Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Continental Tire Road Race Showcase

This weekend, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship returns to action at Road America in Wisconsin for 160 minutes of racing Sunday.  35 cars are scheduled to take the green flag.

In the Prototype class, the Mazdas are not entered as a result of Team Joest taking over the Mazda program.  They are currently testing to try to improve both the RT24-P and the Riley Mk. 30 chassis that is is based off.  As a result, only eight prototypes are entered.

Outside of the Mazda absence, the biggest change is Visit Florida Racing switching to a Ligier JS P217-Gibson from their Riley Mk. 30.  The hope is that the switch will improve their fortunes.

The other team racing the Ligier JS P217-Gibson, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports, has been fast at times with the Ligier.  However, they have also had a revolving door of drivers in the car.  For Road America, Olivier Pla and José Gutierrez return to the seat, replacing Nick Boulle and David Ostella.  The chassis has been repaired after Ostella rolled the car at the end of the Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

Prototype Challenge still has only three entries.  BAR1 Motorsports’ No. 26 currently has drivers to be announced.  Watch for that to be announced Thursday or Friday at the track.  The No. 20 will have Buddy Rice return to the seat alongside Don Yount.

GT Le Mans is completely unchanged from Lime Rock.  Risi Competizione was originally supposed to return from their break this weekend, but that was pushed back to VIR at the end of the month.

In GT Daytona, there are 16 entries this week, down one from Lime Rock.  Alex Job Racing’s No. 23 Audi and The Racers Group’s No. 007 Aston Martin are not entered.  However, Lone Star Racing’s No. 80 Mercedes for Dan Knox and Mike Skeen returns for their second start of the season.

One of the biggest stories of the weekend is WeatherTech Racing switching to Porsche for the race.  It is unclear if the move, which is clearly Balance of Performance-related, is just for Road America, or if the team will run the Porsche the rest of the season.

Entry List: Continental Tire Road Race Showcase

Prototype2 - Tequila Patron ESMRyan Dalziel
Scott Sharp
Nissan DPi
GT Le Mans3 - Corvette RacingAntonio Garcia
Jan Magnussen
Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
GT Le Mans4 - Corvette RacingOliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
Prototype5 - Action Express RacingJoao Barbosa
Christian Fittipaldi
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
Prototype10 - Wayne Taylor RacingJordan Taylor
Ricky Taylor
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
GT Daytona14 - 3GT RacingSage Karam
Scott Pruett
Lexus RCF GT3
GT Daytona15 - 3GT RacingRobert Alon
Jack Hawksworth
Lexus RCF GT3
GT Daytona16 - Change RacingCorey Lewis
Jeroen Mul
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
Prototype Challenge20 - BAR1 MotorsportsBuddy Rice
Don Yount
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
Prototype22 - Tequila Patron ESMPipo Derani
Johannes van Overbeek
Nissan DPi
GT Le Mans24 - BMW Team RLLJohn Edwards
Martin Tomczyk
GT Le Mans25 - BMW Team RLLBill Auberlen
Alexander Sims
Prototype Challenge26 - BAR1 MotorsportsTBAORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona28 - Alegra MotorsportsMichael de Quesada
Daniel Morad
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype31 - Action Express RacingDane Cameron
Eric Curran
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
GT Daytona33 - Riley MotorsportsJeroen Bleekemolen
Ben Keating
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype Challenge38 - BAR1 MotorsportsJames French
Patricio O'Ward
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona48 - Paul Miller RacingBryan Sellers
Madison Snow
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
GT Daytona50 - WeatherTech RacingGunnar Jeannette
Cooper MacNeil
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype52 - PR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsJosé Gutierrez
Olivier Pla
Ligier JS P217-Gibson
GT Daytona54 - CORE autosportJon Bennett
Colin Braun
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Daytona57 - Stevenson MotorsportsLawson Aschenbach
Andrew Davis
Audi R8 LMS GT3
GT Daytona63 - Scuderia CorsaAlessandro Balzan
Christina Nielsen
Ferrari 488 GT3
GT Le Mans66 - Ford Chip Ganassi RacingJoey Hand
Dirk Müller
Ford GT
GT Le Mans67 - Ford Chip Ganassi RacingRyan Briscoe
Richard Westbrook
Ford GT
GT Daytona73 - Park Place MotorsportsJörg Bergmeister
Patrick Lindsey
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Daytona75 - SunEnergy1 RacingKenny Habul
Tristan Vautier
Mercedes-AMG GT3
GT Daytona80 - Lone Star RacingDan Knox
Mike Skeen
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype85 - JDC/Miller MotorSportsMisha Goikhberg
Stephen Simpson
ORECA 07-Gibson
GT Daytona86 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianOswaldo Negri Jr.
Jeff Segal
Acura NSX GT3
Prototype90 - Visit Florida RacingMarc Goossens
Renger van der Zande
Ligier JS P217-Gibson
GT Daytona 93 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianAndy Lally
Katherine Legge
Acura NSX GT3
GT Daytona96 - Turner MotorsportJens Klingmann
Jesse Krohn
GT Le Mans911 - Porsche GT TeamPatrick Pilet
Dirk Werner
Porsche 911 RSR
GT Le Mans912 - Porsche GT TeamGianmaria Bruni
Laurens Vanthoor
Porsche 911 RSR

About the author

2021 Phil Allaway Headshot Phil Allaway

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via