Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2016 Petit Le Mans presented by Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Resort

Recently, IMSA released the official entry list for Saturday’s 19th Annual Petit Le Mans presented by Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Resort (Note: This resort/presenting sponsor is located in Cherokee, N.C., approximately 119 miles away from the track).  Officially, 41 cars are listed.  However, 37 will show up.

With Saturday’s race being ten hours in length, the vast majority of the teams have brought in third drivers to fill out their driving lineups.  Also, there are a couple of teams that have not run all the races that are back as well.  The most notable example of this is Tequila Patron ESM, who has entered their No. 2 Ligier JS P2-HPD with the lineup of team owner Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek and Pipo Derani.  Other third drivers in the Prototype ranks include Andy Meyrick, Filipe Albuquerque, Max Angelelli, Verizon IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud, and more.

Prototype Challenge is down to seven entries on the list, but it is really six since CORE autosport has withdrawn their No. 54 from the series in order to prepare for their full-time schedule in GT Daytona with a Porsche 911 GT3 R in 2017.  Expect the class to be relatively lean in 2017 as the class is gradually phased out.  Multiple teams have already announced plans outside of PC for next season, while others are still in the planning stages.

GT Le Mans is back up to ten entries with Scuderia Corsa bringing their No. 68 Ferrari 488 GTE out to play.  Of note, yes, it has been on the entry list for every race this season as it is considered a full-season entry, but it is a part-time team.

Finally, GT Daytona looks to have a season-low 12 entries take the track.  15 are listed, but that includes Alex Job Racing‘s No. 22, which has already withdrawn for the season.  It also includes Change Racing‘s No. 11, which hasn’t raced since the Spring and Black Swan Racing‘s No. 540, which was parked after Tim Pappas‘ father died.  The team is getting back to the track, but it will be in next weekend’s Pirelli World Challenge finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

2016 Petit Le Mans presented by Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort Entry List

0PrototypeKatherine Legge
Andy Meyrick
Sean Rayhall
Panoz DeltaWing RacingDeltaWing DWC13-Elan
2PrototypePipo Derani
Scott Sharp
Johannes van Overbeek
Tequila Patron ESMLigier JS P2-HPD
3GT Le MansAntonio Garcia
Jan Magnussen
Mike Rockenfeller
Corvette RacingChevrolet Corvette C7.R
4GT Le MansMarcel Fässler
Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
Corvette RacingChevrolet Corvette C7.R
5PrototypeFilipe Albuquerque
Jõao Barbosa
Christian Fittipaldi
Action Express RacingChevrolet Corvette DP
6GT DaytonaAndrew Davis
Robin Liddell
Mike Skeen
Stevenson MotorsportsAudi R8 LMS GT3
7Prototype ChallengeStefano Coletti
James Dayson
Quinlan Lall
Starworks MotorsportORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
8Prototype ChallengeDavid Heinemeier Hansson
Alex Popow
Renger van der Zande
Starworks MotorsportORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
9GT DaytonaLawson Aschenbach
Matt Bell
Dion von Moltke
Stevenson MotorsportsAudi R8 LMS GT3
10PrototypeMax Angelelli
Jordan Taylor
Ricky Taylor
Wayne Taylor RacingChevrolet Corvette DP
16GT DaytonaRichard Antinucci
Corey Lewis
Spencer Pumpelly
Change RacingLamborghini Huracan GT3
20Prototype ChallengeTomy Drissi
Johnny Mowlem
Don Yount
BAR1 MotorsportsORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
23GT DaytonaMario Farnbacher
Ian James
Alex Riberas
Alex Job Racing-Team SeattlePorsche 911 GT3 R
25GT Le MansBill Auberlen
Augusto Farfus
Dirk Werner
27GT DaytonaLarry DeGeorge
Paolo Ruberti
Cedric Sbirrazzuoli
Dream RacingLamborghini Huracan GT3
31PrototypeDane Cameron
Eric Curran
Simon Pagenaud
Action Express RacingChevrolet Corvette DP
33GT DaytonaJeroen Bleekemolen
Ben Keating
Marc Miller
Riley MotorsportsDodge Viper GT3-R
38Prototype ChallengeJames French
Kenton Koch
Kyle Marcelli
Performance Tech MotorsportsORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
44GT DaytonaAndy Lally
John Potter
Marco Seefried
Magnus RacingAudi R8 LMS GT3
48GT DaytonaBryce Miller
Bryan Sellers
Madison Snow
Paul Miller RacingLamborghini Huracan GT3
52Prototype ChallengeRobert Alon
José Gutierrez
Tom Kimber-Smith
PR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
55PrototypeJonathan Bomarito
Tristan Nunez
Spencer Pigot
Mazda MotorsportsLola B11/86 (Mazda)
60PrototypeOswaldo Negri, Jr.
John Pew
Olivier Pla
Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianLigier JS P2-HPD
62GT Le MansJames Calado
Giancarlo Fisichella
Toni Vilander
Risi CompetizioneFerrari 488 GTE
63GT DaytonaAlessandro Balzan
Christina Nielsen
Jeff Segal
Scuderia CorsaFerrari 488 GT3
66GT Le MansSebastien Bourdais
Joey Hand
Dirk Müller
Ford Chip Ganassi RacingFord GT
67GT Le MansRyan Briscoe
Scott Dixon
Richard Westbrook
Ford Chip Ganassi RacingFord GT
68GT Le MansAndrea Bertolini
Alessandro Pier Guidi
Daniel Serra
Scuderia CorsaFerrari 488 GTE
70PrototypeTom Long
Joel Miller
Spencer Pigot
Mazda MotorsportsLola B11/86 (Mazda)
73GT DaytonaJörg Bergmeister
Matthew McMurry
Patrick Lindsey
Park Place MotorsportsPorsche 911 GT3 R
85Prototype ChallengeMisha Goikhberg
Chris Miller
Stephen Simpson
JDC/Miller MotorSportsORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
88Prototype ChallengeRichard Bradley
Maxwell Hanratty
Mark Kvamme
Starworks MotorsportORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
90PrototypeRyan Dalziel
Marc Goossens
Ryan Hunter-Reay
VisitFlorida.com RacingChevrolet Corvette DP
96GT DaytonaBret Curtis
Ashley Freiberg
Jens Klingmann
Turner MotorsportBMW M6 GT3
97GT DaytonaMichael Marsal
Markus Palttala
Turner MotorsportBMW M6 GT3
100GT Le MansJohn Edwards
Lucas Luhr
Kuno Wittmer
911GT Le MansPatrick Pilet
Nick Tandy
Porsche North AmericaPorsche 911 RSR
912GT Le MansEarl Bamber
Frédéric Makowiecki
Porsche North AmericaPorsche 911 RSR

No. 11 – Change Racing

No. 22- Alex Job Racing

No. 54- CORE autosport

No. 540 – Black Swan Racing

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lee Roll

Good article. Would be nice if you would list a qualifying chart.

Share via