Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Sprint All-Star Race

The Sprint Cup Series heads home to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the next two weeks. The first of two races takes place this weekend with the Sprint All-Star Race.

There are 15 drivers eligible for the event and this field was decided based on 2015 race winners, past Sprint Cup Series champions and former All-Star Race winners.

The former event winners include Denny Hamlin in 2015, Jamie McMurray in 2014, Jimmie Johnson in 2003, 2006, 2012, and 2013, Carl Edwards in 2011, Kurt Busch in 2010, Tony Stewart in 2009, Kasey Kahne in 2008, Kevin Harvick in 2007, Matt Kenseth in 2004, Ryan Newman in 2002 and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. in 2000.

Kyle Busch will search for his first All-Star Race win this weekend in a special No. 75 car, commemorating the 75th anniversary of M&M’s. This isn’t the first time a driver has competed with a different number for this event as Mark Martin raced the No. 25 Farmers Insurance Group Chevrolet rather than the No. 5 for Hendrick Motorsports in 2011.

A total of 20 cars will compete on Saturday night. The final five qualifiers will come from the Sprint Showdown through the three-segment winners and two drivers who receive the fan vote.

Action from Charlotte begins on Friday with practice at 3 p.m. (all times ET). A special edition of qualifying that features a pit stop and no pit road speed limits will take place ahead of the million dollar race on Saturday at 7:10 p.m. and will be followed by the race beginning at 9 p.m. on FS1.

Car No.DriverManufacturerSponsorTeam
1Jamie McMurrayChevyBass Pro Shop / National Turkey FederationChip Ganassi Racing
2Brad KeselowskiFordMiller LiteTeam Penske
4Kevin HarvickChevyBusch LightStewart-Haas Racing
5Kasey KahneChevyDrive Home a WinnerHendrick Motorsports
11Denny HamlinToyotaFedEx ExpressJoe Gibbs Racing
14Tony StewartChevyBass Pro ShopStewart-Haas Racing
19Carl EdwardsToyotaARRIS SurfboardJoe Gibbs Racing
20Matt KensethToyotaDollar GeneralJoe Gibbs Racing
22Joey LoganoFordShell PennzoilTeam Penske
31Ryan NewmanChevyCaterpillar / GraingerRichard Childress Racing
41Kurt BuschChevyHaas Automation / Monster EnergyStewart-Haas Racing
48Jimmie JohnsonChevyLowe'sHendrick Motorsports
75Kyle BuschToyotaM&M's 75th AnniversaryJoe Gibbs Racing
78Martin Truex Jr.ToyotaFurniture RowFurniture Row Racing
88Dale Earnhardt Jr.ChevyMountain DewHendrick Motorsports

About the author

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Matthew

Who is the dufus who thinks Kyle Bush is driving for Hendrick? I’ll bet that’s a big surprise to Joe Gibbs Racing.

Share via