Race Weekend Central

Zane Smith Wins Pole for 2023 Bristol Dirt Truck Race

Ben Rhodes, Stewart Friesen, Joey Logano and Matt Crafton won their respective heat races, but due to passing points Zane Smith will start on the pole for the Weather Guard Dirt Race at Bristol Saturday (April 8) Night.

2023 NCTS Bristol Dirt Starting Lineup

Smith started last in heat two and finished in the second position, earning him the pole in the race. Ty Majeski will start next to Smith after starting ninth in heat three and finishing second.

Rhodes dominated the first heat race of the night. Rhodes avoided a late-race spin by Kris Wright, after he ran into the back of Taylor Gray, to back up his win from last season. Hailie Deegan finished second, with Chase Purdy, Stefan Parsons and Gray finished in the top five.

Heat two started with a caution as Friesen took the lead from Colby Howard after Howard had an issue on the track, bringing out the caution. Freisen would pull away to win heat two over Smith, Chase Briscoe, Parker Kligerman and Christian Eckes.

Heat three took the green flag with Matt Dibenedetto on the pole. Nick Sanchez took the lead, with Logano moving to second before Tanner Carrick, making his Truck Series debut, lost control of his truck and made contact with Daniel Dye to draw the first caution. Dye would also spin after the restart with a flat tire.

Logano passed Sanchez for the lead on lap 8 and lead the rest of the way holding off Ty Majeski for the win. Majeski finished second and Sanchez third, with Corey Heim and William Byron rounding out the top five.

The fireworks of heat four started before the race went green as polesitter Andrew Gordon went for a spin during the hot laps. Gordon did start on the front row for the race. Rajah Caruth took the lead on the opening lap before Crafton grabbed the lead on lap 7 and led the rest of the way to score the win in a very tight finish with Caruth.

Josh Reaume, Lawless Alan, Jerry Bohlman, Andrew Gordon and Jessica Friesen failed to qualify for the race.

You can watch the Weather Guard Truck Race on Dirt tonight at 8 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1.

About the author

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via