Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2015 Spongebob Squarepants 400 at Kansas

Next stop: Kansas.

NASCAR released the entry list for the May 9 Spongebob Squarepants 400 at Kansas Speedway this morning. There are 44 entrants, meaning one team will fail to make Saturday’s race.

NASCAR’s game of musical chairs continues this week as Erik Jones gets to make his first official start in the No. 18 M&M’s Red Nose Day Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing. Jones, 18, is competing full time in the Camping World Truck Series for Kyle Busch Motorsports, as well as running a part-time Xfinity Series schedule for JGR. He gained experience in a Cup car at the April 19 race at Bristol, where he replaced an ailing Denny Hamlin.

With Jones in the No. 18, David Ragan hops over to the No. 55 for Michael Waltrip Racing. Ragan will drive for the team for the rest of 2015, replacing Brian Vickers, who is out with blood clots. Ragan will be backed by Spongebob Squarepants and Aaron’s at Kansas.

With Ragan at MWR, Front Row Motorsports will field Brett Moffitt starting at Kansas. Moffitt, 22, has made eight starts in 2015, including two with Front Row. His best run with the team came at Phoenix, where he finished 32nd.

Xfinity Series points leader Ty Dillon will return at Kansas, driving the No. 33 Chevrolet with backing from Richard Childress Racing. His only previous race this season was the Daytona 500, where he finished 28th. Mike Bliss will also attempt to make Saturday’s race, driving the No. 32 Ford for Archie St. Hilaire.

Should qualifying for Saturday’s race be rained out, Brendan Gaughan would be the only driver to go home.

Sprint Cup Series action will begin at Kansas Speedway on Friday, when the series holds its only two practice sessions from 12 – 1:25 p.m ET. and 2:30 – 3:25 p.m. ET. The series will then host Coors Light Pole Qualifying at 6:45 p.m. ET. Coverage of the Spongebob Squarepants 400 will begin on FOX Sports 1 on Saturday, May 9 at 7:30 p.m. ET.


Car #DriverManufacturerSponsorOwner
1Jamie McMurrayChevyMcDonaldsFelix Sabates
2Brad Keselowski (PC3)FordAvayaRoger Penske
3Austin DillonChevyDowRichard Childress
4Kevin Harvick (PC1)ChevyJimmy John'sTony Stewart
5Kasey KahneChevyGreat ClipsLinda Hendrick
6Trevor BayneFordAdvoCareJack Roush
7Alex BowmanChevyAccell ConstructionTommy Baldwin
9Sam Hornish Jr.FordMedallion BankRichard Petty
10Danica PatrickChevyGoDaddy.comTony Stewart
11Denny HamlinToyotaFedEx FreightJ.D. Gibbs
13Casey MearsChevySquidward TentaclesBob Germain
14Tony Stewart (PC4)ChevyBass Pro Shops / Mobil1Margaret Haas
15Clint BowyerToyota5-Hour EnergyRob Kauffman
16Greg BiffleFordCheez-It / Patrick StarJack Roush
17Ricky Stenhouse Jr.FordZestJohn Henry
18Erik Jones (i)ToyotaM&M's Red Nose DayJoe Gibbs
19Carl EdwardsToyotaStanleyJ D Gibbs
20Matt Kenseth (PC6)ToyotaDollar GeneralJoe Gibbs
22Joey LoganoFordAAA InsuranceWalter Czarnecki
23J.J. Yeley(i)ToyotaDr. Pepper "I'm a Pepper"Ron Devine
24Jeff Gordon (PC7)ChevyAmerican Red Cross / 3MRick Hendrick
26Jeb Burton #ToyotaMaxim Fantasy SportsAnthony Marlowe
27Paul MenardChevyMenard / Pittsburgh PaintsRichard Childress
31Ryan NewmanChevyQuicken LoansRichard Childress
32Mike Bliss(i)FordTBAArchie St Hilaire
33Ty Dillon(i)ChevyTBAJoe Falk
34Brett Moffitt #FordDockside LogisticsBob Jenkins
35Cole WhittFordTBAJerry Freeze
38David GillilandFordMDS TransportBrad Jenkins
40Landon Cassill(i)ChevyCarsforsale.comMike Hillman
41Kurt Busch (PC5)ChevyHaas AutomationGene Haas
42Kyle LarsonChevyTargetChip Ganassi
43Aric AlmirolaFordFarmlandRichard Petty
46Michael AnnettChevyAllstate Peterbilt GroupHarry Scott Jr.
47A.J. AllmendingerChevyKroger / Scott ProductsTad Geschickter
48Jimmie Johnson (PC2)ChevyLowe'sJeff Gordon
51Justin AllgaierChevyFraternal Order of Eagles (F.O.E.)Harry Scott Jr.
55David RaganToyotaSpongeBob SquarePants Aaron's Dream MachineMichael Waltrip
62Brendan Gaughan (i)ChevyVydox PlusJay Robinson
78Martin Truex Jr.ChevyFurniture Row / Vissar PrecisionBarney Vissar
83Matt Dibenedetto #ToyotaDustless BlastingRon Devine
88Dale Earnhardt Jr.ChevyNationwideRick Hendrick
95Michael McDowellFordWRL / Larry the LobsterBob Leavine
98Josh WiseFordPhil Parsons RacingMike Curb
Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via