Race Weekend Central

Aric Almirola Hit with L1 Penalty Post-Talladega

2017 Texas I Cup Aric Almirola Russell Labounty Nkp

(Photo: Russell LaBounty/NKP)

On Sunday, Aric Almirola‘s No. 43 Smithfield Foods Ford failed the post-race rear wheel steer laser test after finishing fourth at Talladega.  As a result, NASCAR has issued an L1-level penalty against the No. 43 team.  Almirola will lose 35 points and the team loses 35 owners points.  The point penalty will drop Almirola from 17th to …

Read more

Sage Karam Returns to Dreyer & Reinbold/Kingdom Racing for Indianapolis 500

2017 Indycar Sage Karam Car Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Kingdom Racing

(Photo: Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Kingdom Racing)

On Wednesday, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing announced that they are rekindling their partnership with Kingdom Racing for the Indianapolis 500.  IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship regular Sage Karam will return to the team to pilot the Chevrolet-powered No. 24.  Replacing Gas Monkey Energy as primary sponsor will be Mecum Auctions, a well-known automobile auction that airs …

Read more

Team Penske Loses Final Appeal, Phoenix Penalties Stand

Brad Keselowski Paul Wolfe

(Photo: Zach Catanzareti)

On Tuesday morning, Team Penske lost their final appeal of penalties assessed following the Camping World 500k in March at Phoenix after a four-hour hearing. As a result, Paul Wolfe, crew chief of Brad Keselowski‘s No. 2 Ford, has had his three-race suspension reinstated. In addition, the 35 driver and 35 owner point penalties and …

Read more

Entry List: 2017 Go Bowling 400

2016 Kansas I Cup Kevin Harvick Racing Brett Moist Nkp

(Photo: Brett Moist/NKP)

On Tuesday morning, NASCAR released the entry list for Saturday night’s Go Bowling 400 at Kansas Speedway.  40 cars are entered this week, so no one will go home. There are a couple of changes to note.  Reed Sorenson moves back into the No. 15 for Premium Motorsports, replacing Joey Gase.  Gase finished a season-best …

Read more

Entry List: 2017 Toyota Tundra 250

2015 Kansas I Cwts Daniel Suarez Tyler Reddick Racing Credit Nascar Via Getty Images

(Photo: NASCAR via Getty Images)

On Tuesday, NASCAR released the entry list for Friday night’s Toyota Tundra 250 at Kansas Speedway.  For the Camping World Truck Series’ fourth race of the year, 31 trucks are currently entered.  As a result, no one will fail to qualify. A couple of strong teams are not entered this week, most notably GMS Racing’s …

Read more

Couch Potato Tuesday: Talladega Brings Wrecking & Typical Broadcasts

2017 Talladega I Cup Matt Kenseth Brad Keselowski Racing Matthew T Thackernkp

(Photo: Matthew T. Thacker/NKP)

Talladega brings a number of different variables to covering races.  Most of the pack is close together, so showing most of the on-track action isn’t that difficult to do.  The usual pinch points are not necessarily in play.  However, that doesn’t necessarily guarantee a perfect broadcast.  Far from it, actually. GEICO 500 Sunday saw the …

Read more

Ricky Taylor Spanks the Field to Take COTA Pole

2017 Daytona Iwsc Ricky Taylor Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

Normally, qualifying sessions are relatively close in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.  Ricky Taylor made sure that wasn’t the case on Friday as he won the pole for Saturday’s Advance Auto Parts Sportscar Showdown with a lap of 114.809 seconds (106.812 mph). Taylor was the first driver to set a time in the session and …

Read more

C360R’s Matt Plumb Fastest Overall in Austin CTSC Practice

2017 Daytona Ctsc Matt Plumb Car Credit Sideline Sports Photography

(Photo: Sideline Sports Photography)

Thursday saw the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge teams take to the track in an official session for the first time in six weeks.  C360R’s Matt Plumb was fastest overall in his McLaren 570s GT4 with a lap of 139.832 seconds (87.533 mph). Practice No. 1 Plumb’s quick time came roughly halfway through the one …

Read more

Taylor Dominance Continues at COTA Practice; BMW Scores GTLM 1-2

2017 Long Beach Iwsc Bill Auberlen Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

In the second practice session Thursday at Circuit of the Americas, Wayne Taylor Racing continued to assert their dominance over the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.  Jordan Taylor, driving the No. 10 Cadillac DPi-V.R. was fastest with a lap of 116.595 seconds (104.979 mph).  This lap was more than 1.1 seconds quicker than Action Express Racing’s …

Read more

Ricky Taylor Fastest in Opening COTA Practice

2017 Daytona Iwsc Ricky Taylor Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Thursday, Wayne Taylor Racing’s Ricky Taylor was the fastest of all in opening practice for Saturday’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s Advance Auto Parts Sportscar Showdown.  The older of the Taylor brothers circulated around the 3.4-mile Circuit of the Americas course in 117.116 seconds (104.512 mph).  The lap was seven-hundredths of a second faster than …

Read more

Conor Daly Fastest in INDYCAR Gateway Test

2017 Long Beach Indycar Conor Daly Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Tuesday, AJ Foyt Racing’s Conor Daly was fastest in both sessions during a full field open test at Gateway Motorsports Park.  Daly’s lap in the second session of 25.4371 seconds (176.907 mph) was the only lap of the whole test to average over 175 mph.  However, it was a trying day for everyone involved …

Read more

Entry List: Circuit of the Americas 120

2017 Daytona Ctsc Dean Martin Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Credit: Phil Allaway)

For the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge’s two-hour sprint race this weekend at Circuit of the Americas, 33 cars are currently entered.  16 of those are Grand Sport entries, while 17 are Street Tuners. Likely who isn’t entered at the moment is a bigger story than who is.  KohR Motorsports has only one car on …

Read more