Race Weekend Central

Chase Purdy Takes 2023 Truck Pole At Talladega

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

Chase Purdy took the pole on the final lap of qualifying on Saturday (Sept. 30) at Talladega Superspeedway. Purdy, who had the fastest lap in the first round, turned a blazing 179.433-mph lap to win the pole for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Nick Sanchez will share the front row with Purdy after going 178.480 mph on his lap. Chevrolet occupied the first three spots, with Jake Garcia qualifying third.

Dean Thompson set the fastest non-Chevy lap, taking fourth, while Ty Majeski rounded out the top five.

Both KBM trucks will start in the top 10, as Jack Wood qualified sixth. Carson Hocevar and Ben Rhodes, both in the playoffs will start on the next row in seventh and eighth.

Bristol winner Corey Heim qualified ninth with the security of knowing he is already locked in to the championship four. Jake Drew found the final spot in the top 10.

Three of the eight playoff drivers did not make the final round. Christian Eckes qualified 16th with Zane Smith two positions behind in 18th. Grant Enfinger will start 25th.

With 40 trucks entered in the event, four drivers did not qualify. Former Talladega winner Spencer Boyd will miss the race, along with Jennifer Jo Cobb, Keith McGee and Clay Greenfield.

Truck Series Starting Lineup at Talladega

The Love’s RV Stop 250 will start at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday afternoon. A Truck Series playoff driver has never won at Talladega. The race will air on FS1.

About the author

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via