Race Weekend Central

Starting Lineup For 2022 Indianapolis 500

Scott Dixon scored his fifth career pole in the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday (May 22), skirting past defending series champion Alex Palou on the final qualifying run of the weekend in the Firestone Fast Six.

Dixon averaged 234.046 mph over four laps, the second best qualifying run in Indianapolis history. The six-time IndyCar champion has done just about everything in IndyCar, but has only won the 500 once. Only Rick Mears has won more Indianapolis 500 poles after Dixon’s fifth this year.

Palou has not won the 500, but he is coming off a hard fought second-place finish last year to four-time winner Helio Castroneves. He’ll start on the front row in between Dixon and Rinus Veekay, who has a best finish of eighth in two 500 starts entering Sunday.

Former F1 driver Romain Grosjean is starting the highest of any of the seven rookies in ninth, with the next highest being NASCAR legend Jimmie Johnson starting directly behind him in 12th.

The following are the full qualifying results and lineup for the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500, to be held on May 29th, 2022. Coverage will begin at 11 a.m. EST on NBC.

Row Inside Middle Outside
1 1st. Scott Dixon 2nd. Alex Palou 3rd. Rinus Veekay
2 4th. Ed Carpenter 5th. Marcus Ericsson 6th. Tony Kanaan

Rows 3-4 were determined right before the Firestone Fast Six.

Row Inside Middle Outside
3 7th. Pato O’Ward 8th. Felix Rosenqvist 9th. Romain Grosjean (R)
4 10th. Takuma Sato 11th. Will Power 12th. Jimmie Johnson (R)

Rows 5-11 were determined during Saturday’s (5/21/2022) open qualifying session.

Row Inside Middle Outside
5 13th. David Malukas (R) 14th. Josef Newgarden 15th. Santino Ferrucci
6 16th. Simon Pagenaud 17th. JR Hildebrand 18th. Conor Daly
7 19th. Callum Ilott (R) 20th. Alexander Rossi 21st. Graham Rahal
8 22nd. Sage Karam 23rd. Marco Andretti 24th. Devlin DeFrancesco (R)
9 25th. Colton Herta 26th. Scott McLaughlin 27th. Helio Castroneves
10 28th. Kyle Kirkwood (R) 29th. Dalton Kellett 30th. Juan Pablo Montoya
11 31st. Christian Lundgaard (R) 32nd. Jack Harvey 33rd. Stefan Wilson

About the author

Michael has watched NASCAR for 20 years and regularly covered the sport from 2013-2021. He moved on to Formula 1, IndyCar, and SRX coverage for the site, while still putting a toe in the water from time-to-time back into the NASCAR pool.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

JJo an impressive 12th. But I still think his theme song will be “Hello Wall”.

Share via