Race Weekend Central

Kyle Busch to Lead O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 Field to Green

For the fifth straight race, Joe Gibbs Racing has swept the top 3 starting positions for tonight’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. Kyle Busch scored his fifth straight pole with a lap of 188.475 mph, ahead of teammates and XFINITY Series regulars Erik Jones, who won this race last year, and Daniel Suarez. Kyle Larson and Brennan Poole round out the top 5.

Brothers Ty and Austin Dillon will start sixth and seventh, respectively. Brad Keselowski, Brandon Jones and Ryan Reed round out the top 10.

Round one was slowed briefly when Ray Black, Jr. found himself stopped at the exit of pit road, but a little push and a lap around the track allowed the session to go green shortly afterward.

Kyle Busch has seven wins at Texas Motor Speedway, including five straight from 2008 through 2010.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. local time tonight.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



You forgot to mention hard-fought victory.

Share via