Race Weekend Central

Denny Hamlin Wins 4th Pole of 2023 at Watkins Glen

Denny Hamlin‘s grip on road course qualifying in 2023 continued at Watkins Glen, as the Joe Gibbs Racing driver topped the charts for his fourth NASCAR Cup Series pole of the season.

The 2016 Watkins Glen winner bested the field with a speed of 125.298 mph. In addition to a pole at Talladega Superspeedway earlier this season, Hamlin won the pole at both Sonoma Raceway and the Chicago street course.

Joining Hamlin on the front row will be William Byron, who laid down a speed of 124.961.

Fresh off his win at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course, Michael McDowell turned in the third-fastest lap. Rookie Ty Gibbs and 2021 Cup champion Kyle Larson rounded out the top five.

Former Watkins Glen winner AJ Allmendinger will start sixth, with Christopher Bell, Tyler Reddick, Kyle Busch and Corey LaJoie shaped the remainder of the top 10.

A few playoff bubble drivers just missed out on making the final round. Bubba Wallace qualified 12th, while Daniel Suarez and Chase Elliott will start 14th and 15th, respectively.

NASCAR Cup Series Go Bowling at the Glen Starting Lineup

The penultimate race of the regular season kicks off on Sunday, Aug. 20 at 3 p.m. ET on the USA Network.

About the author

Luken Glover joined the Frontstretch team in 2020 as a contributor, furthering a love for racing that traces back to his earliest memories. Glover inherited his passion for racing from his grandfather, who used to help former NASCAR team owner Junie Donlavey in his Richmond, Va. garage. A 2023 graduate from the University of the Cumberlands, Glover is the author of "The Underdog House," contributes to commentary pieces, and does occasional at-track reporting. Additionally, Glover enjoys working in ministry, coaching basketball, playing sports, and karting.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via