Race Weekend Central

Scott Andrews Quickest in Sebring Pilot Challenge Practice

Lone Star Racing’s Scott Andrews was fastest overall in IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge practice Wednesday (March 15) at Sebring International Raceway with a lap at 104.121 mph. It is the second straight race that Andrews has put the No. 27 Mercedes at the front of the field early on.

Practice No. 1

IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge teams were on track early Wednesday morning for an hour of practice. The teams were up to speed immediately.

Spencer Pumpelly and Luca Mars were quick early on, as was Rebel Rock Racing’s Robin Liddell. However, Andrews set his quick lap 26 minutes into the session that stood up as the quickest lap of the day.

Andrews’ lap was a full two seconds faster than the previous Grand Sport track record at Sebring, set in 2018 by Trent Hindman. Andrews’ lap was .142 seconds quicker than Rebel Rock Racing’s Robin Liddell. Mars was third fastest, then Pumpelly and Rennsport One’s Stevan McAleer.

Murillo Racing’s Kenny Murillo was sixth in his Mercedes, then JTR Motorsports Engineering’s Jared Thomas. Stephen Cameron Racing’s Greg Liefooghe, fresh off of a victory Sunday in IMSA VP Racing SportsCar Challenge, was eighth fastest, while Eric Foss and Kris Wilson rounded out the top 10.

In TCR, JDC-Miller MotorSports’ Mikey Taylor was fastest in his Audi RS3 LMS TCR with a lap at 101.418 mph, good for 27th overall. Taylor’s lap was .029 seconds quicker than LA Honda World Racing’s Ryan Eversley. VGRT’s Karl Wittmer was third, followed by KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering’s Tim Lewis Jr. Mike LaMarra in the second LA Honda World Racing Civic Type-R TCR was fifth.


Practice No. 2

Around midday Wednesday, rain moved into the Sebring area. That meant that when it was time for the second session, the track was wet. As a result, a number of teams decided not to participate.

Of the 17 teams of 42 to set an official time, Murillo ended up quickest with a lap at 92.583 mph, more than 15 seconds slower than in the morning. Murillo’s lap was one-eighth of a second quicker than AutoTechnic Racing’s John Capestro-Dubets. Winward Racing’s Daniel Morad was third, then Random Vandals Racing’s Kenton Koch and McCumbee-McAleer Racing with AEROSPORT’s Chad McCumbee.

In TCR, Taylor was once again fastest with a lap at 89.608 mph, good for ninth overall. His lap was .352 seconds faster that Rockwell Autosport Development’s Nick Looijmans. Van der Steur Racing’s Bryan Ortiz was third, then Preston Brown in the second Rockwell Audi. LA Honda World Racing’s Dr. William Tally was fifth.


Qualifying for the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 is scheduled for 3:50 p.m. ET Wednesday afternoon. We’ll have a recap of the action here at Frontstretch.

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via