Race Weekend Central

Zane Smith on Truck Pole for Martinsville; Truck Qualifying Rained Out

Zane Smith is on the pole for tonight’s (April 7) NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway after practice and qualifying were rained out.

Smith snuck by three trucks in a turn late in the race and snagged his second win of the season at Circuit of the Americas two weeks ago.

Kyle Busch will start alongside Smith on the front row, while ThorSport Racing’s Ben Rhodes lines up third. Kyle Busch Motorsports’ Chandler Smith and John Hunter Nemechek round out the top five.

See also
Truckin' Thursdays: 4 Truck Series Drivers Who Belong in NASCAR Hall of Fame

Stewart Friesen is sixth, Christian Eckes is seventh and Tyler Ankrum starts eighth. Carson Hocevar and Derek Kraus complete the top 10 in the lineup.

Justin Carroll, Jake Garcia and Blaine Perkins did not make the race.

Truck Starting Lineup for Martinsville

The lineup is set by the rulebook, which is the metric formula used much of last year: 25% of where the driver finished in the precious race (in this case, COTA), 25% truck owner’s finishing position, 35% owner points ranking and 15% fastest lap from the last race.

The Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 200 is scheduled to air on April 7 at 8 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1.

About the author

Joy joined Frontstretch in 2019 as a NASCAR DraftKings writer, expanding to news and iRacing coverage in 2020. She's currently an assistant editor and involved with photos, social media and news editing. A California native, Joy was raised as a motorsports fan and started watching NASCAR extensively in 2001. She earned her B.A. degree in Liberal Studies at California State University Bakersfield in 2010.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via