Race Weekend Central

Here Are the Changes to the Daytona Road Course Entry Lists

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

In what will likely become a recurring segment at Frontstretch each week, we’ll run down the driver- and team-related changes to the NASCAR entry lists since they were initially posted, in this case last Saturday, Feb. 13.

NASCAR Cup Series (Daytona International Speedway road course)

Garrett Smithley will make his season debut this weekend, driving the No. 53 for Rick Ware Racing. Joey Gase was initially shown on the entry list. Smithley, who failed to qualify for the Daytona 500 with MBM Motorsports, will run a part-time schedule for RWR in 2021, as will Gase.

Scott Heckert makes his Cup debut in the No. 78 for Live Fast Motorsports, replacing BJ McLeod. In addition to 10 Xfinity Series starts since 2016, Heckert has four wins in the ARCA Menards Series East.

NASCAR Xfinity Series (Daytona road course)

Andy Lally is now listed as the driver of BJ McLeod Motorsports’ No. 99; he was initially entered in Our Motorsports’ No. 03, which has withdrawn due to it not having enough points to make it into the starting lineup in the absence of qualifying. The initial entry list had the driver as TBA, though Josh Bilicki had been expected in the car.

-Like Lally, Preston Pardus also moves into a different ride after his original withdrew. Pardus will drive DGM Racing’s No. 90, replacing Caesar Bacarella. Pardus was initially entered in the No. 91 for DGM, which does not have enough points to make the field.

-MBM’s No. 13 is still listed as TBA, but David Starr remains expected to be the driver. Starr announced last week he’d drive the car for the remainder of the season.

-RSS Racing and Reaume Brothers Racing’s No. 23 also remains TBA, but Natalie Decker is expected to drive, as she announced earlier this month. The race will mark Decker’s series debut.

The No. 31 of Jordan Anderson Racing and No. 77 of Bassett Racing, to be driven by Jordan Anderson and Ronnie Bassett Jr., respectively, have withdrawn due to not having enough points to make the lineup. Both were initially planned as full-season efforts, but Anderson has said he may not be able to return until the series brings back qualifying.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Daytona road course)

Kris Wright, who planned to run full time in Young’s Motorsports’ No. 02, will step out of the truck in favor of Kaz Grala while Wright focuses on his Xfinity debut this weekend in Sam Hunt Racing’s No. 26. Young’s indicated that Wright will be in the truck for the rest of the season.

Camden Murphy is entered in Nemco Motorsports’ No. 8, which was initially listed as TBA. It’s Murphy’s first start of 2021.

Riley Herbst will step into the Truck Series for a one-off with David Gilliland Racing’s No. 17. Team owner David Gilliland was on the preliminary entry list.

-RBR’s No. 34, which was initially listed as TBA, will house Lawless Alan in his Truck debut, one of three drivers doing so this weekend alongside Jett Noland and Parker Chase. Alan scored four ARCA Menards Series West top 10s last year.

-CMI Motorsports’ Nos. 49 and 83 trucks have withdrawn due to not having enough points to make the lineup. Roger Reuse and Tim Viens had been scheduled to drive.

-Parker Chase makes his series debut in Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 51. The initial driver was TBA.


About the author

Rutherford is the managing editor of Frontstretch, a position he gained in 2015 after serving on the editing staff for two years. At his day job, he's a journalist covering music and rock charts at Billboard. He lives in New York City, but his heart is in Ohio -- you know, like that Hawthorne Heights song.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via