Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2020 O’Reilly Auto Parts 500

After a mid-week All-Star Race, the NASCAR Cup Series picks up its regular season this weekend with the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

A total of 41 cars are entered for the Sunday race, the first time since NASCAR’s pandemic rules of allowing a total of 40 cars to race without qualifying that an additional Cup entry will be sent home due to no qualifying procedure. The No. 90, which did not have a driver listed and is reportedly owned by Vic Keller (who has in the past worked with Rick Ware Racing), will not compete. Tommy Baldwin was set to be its crew chief.

Speaking of Baldwin, his No. 7 team will race after skipping Kentucky Speedway, with a driver to be announced.

JJ Yeley will pilot the No. 27 for RWR, while Joey Gase and Garrett Smithley will drive the team’s Nos. 51 and 53, respectively.

The No. 77 for Spire Motorsports is currently listed without a driver, while the No. 78 of BJ McLeod returns to the track as well.

Cup Texas Entry List

The Texas Cup race will be held July 19 at 3 p.m. ET, with coverage on NBC Sports Network.


About the author

Rutherford is the managing editor of Frontstretch, a position he gained in 2015 after serving on the editing staff for two years. At his day job, he's a journalist covering music and rock charts at Billboard. He lives in New York City, but his heart is in Ohio -- you know, like that Hawthorne Heights song.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via