Race Weekend Central

Christian Eckes wins NASCAR Hall of Fame 200 Pole at Martinsville

Christian Eckes has won the pole for the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series’ NASCAR Hall of Fame 200 at Martinsville Speedway. It’s his third pole this season in seven starts.

The driver of the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Tundra shot to the top of the leaderboard with a lap of 95.424 mph, followed by defending series champion Brett Moffitt in the GMS Racing No. 24 Chevy Silverado at 95.347 mph.

In third was KBM’s Harrison Burton in the No. 18 at 95.118 mph, with ThorSport Racing’s Matt Crafton closing out the second row at 95.032 mph in the No. 88 Ford F-150.

Rounding out the top five was Tyler Ankrum in DGR-Crosley’s No. 17 Tundra at 94.965 mph.

The other NGOTS playoff drivers still in contention, Stewart Friesen, Austin Hill and Ross Chastain, qualified seventh, 17th and 12th, respectively.

2018 NHRA Pro Stock champion Tanner Gray, who is making his NGOTS debut in DGR-Crosley’s No. 15, will start 15th. He finished third overall in his rookie season in the K&N Pro Series East this year.

Since only 32 trucks were entered, every driver made the race.

NASCAR Hall of Fame 200 full qualifying results

The green flag will drop around 1:30 p.m. ET, with TV coverage on Fox Sports 1.

About the author

Wesley has been with Fronstretch since October 2017. He loves well-told stories in whatever format he finds them. Aside from NASCAR, he enjoys reading, country music and OKC Thunder basketball. He has a BA in Liberal Arts/English and currently lives in eastern Oklahoma, where he works as a freelance writer/editor.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via