Race Weekend Central

Kyle Busch Wins Xfinity Pole at Indianapolis

Much like Friday’s (Sept. 6) practice sessions at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Joe Gibbs Racing was the class of the field in qualifying for Saturday’s (Sept. 7) Indiana 250, with Kyle Busch winning the pole at 168.397 mph.

Busch was just ahead of Brandon Jones in second (168.083 mph), who recorded his first front row starting position since late March at Texas Motor Speedway. The No. 19 Toyota was right in front of Christopher Bell in third (167.317 mph).

Championship leader Tyler Reddick was fourth (166.208 mph), and John Hunter Nemechek rounded out the top five (166.187 mph).

Austin Cindric, Justin Haley, Justin Allgaier, Chase Briscoe and Ryan Sieg fill positions six through 10.

Six-time winner this season Cole Custer will start right around the top 10 in 11th, with JR Motorsports drivers Jeb Burton, Noah Gragson and Michael Annett inside the top 15, along with Austin Dillon.

Gander Outdoors Truck Series regular Austin Hill will roll off from 17th position. Hill is making his series debut with MBM Motorsports in a joint effort with Hattori Racing Enterprises.

The green flag will wave shortly after 4 p.m. ET. Allgaier is the defending winner.

Full results from Xfinity Series qualifying at Indianapolis

About the author

Dustin joined the Frontstretch team at the beginning of the 2016 season. 2020 marks his sixth full-time season covering the sport that he grew up loving. His dream was to one day be a NASCAR journalist, thus why he attended Ithaca College (Class of 2018) to earn a journalism degree. Since the ripe age of four, he knew he wanted to be a storyteller.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via