Race Weekend Central

Entry List: FOX Factory 120

On Friday (Oct. 12), an era comes to a close as the final race for the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge will be held at Road Atlanta.  The series will continue on next season as the Michelin Pilot Challenge.  39 teams are entered to give Continental Tire a proper send-off after eight years as title sponsor.  Motorsport in Action’s Jesse Lazare will try to defend his victory from last year with Corey Fergus alongside.

The Grand Sport class is once again the biggest with 25 cars entered.  TeamTGM’s Owen Trinkler and Hugh Plumb enter the race weekend with a 31-point lead over KohR Motorsports’ Kyle Marcelli and Nate Stacy.  It’s not locked up, but all Trinkler and Plumb need to do is get their minimum drive-time in to claim the title.

There are a couple of driver changes of note.  Rennsport One has entered their second car, the No. 18 Porsche once again, but with a new lineup.  Jason Hart, who has driven a BMW for Classic BMW earlier this year, will share with Curt Swearingin.  At Laguna Seca, the car was shared by Cavan O’Keefe and Jan Heylen.  Heylen seemed to put himself squarely in the equation with the leaders late despite being a lap down, irritating some drivers in the process.

With the XFINITY Series off this weekend, all three of Ford Performance’s development drivers will be in action.  As a result, the team will expand to three teams for the first time since Daytona.  Ty Majeski is back in the No. 15, but he’s joined this time by Cole CusterChase Briscoe is back in the No. 22 with Austin Cindric.

PF Racing, which competed full-time in Pirelli World Challenge’s GTS and GTS SprintX classes in 2018, has entered one of their Ford Mustang GT4 this weekend.  James Pesek and Jade Buford will drive the No. 40 Mustang.

The TCR class has nine entries, up from the seven at Laguna Seca.  Both of the Rumcastle LLC Volkswagen GTI TCRs are back.  The Rumburgs (Luke and Tanner) will be in the No. 31, while the No. 32 will be driven by Mark Brummond and Pat Wilmot.

While the Roadshagger Racing Audi RS3 LMS Club Sport is not entered, RS Werkes Racing is back with their Audi.  Mikey Taylor and Tyler Stone will drive.

Finally, Road Atlanta will mark the swan song for the Street Tuner class.  Only five cars are entered to give the class a proper farewell.  The only change here is an interesting one as Luis Percocarpi will drive the No. 52 MINI in place of Colin Mullan.  Percocarpi is the owner of LAP Motorsports, the team that runs MINI JCW Team.  Percocarpi has years of experience racing MINIs, dating back to his days running rallies and rallycross in Chile.


About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via