Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen

The entry list for Sunday’s Sahlen’s Six Hours at the Glen has been by IMSA.  39 cars in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s four classes will battle on Watkins Glen International’s 3.37-mile long course.

In Prototypes, Olivier Pla will be in the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Ligier JS P217-Gibson this weekend alongside José Gutierrez.  That is the only major change in the class for this weekend, but there are more changes coming down the line.

Ed Brown, regular driver in the No. 22 Tequila Patron ESM Nissan DPi and President/CEO of Patron Spirits, announced his retirement from racing on Monday.  Watkins Glen will be his final race for the time being.  Pipo Derani, who returns to the No. 2 this weekend, will jump to the No. 22 for the remainder of the season to replace Brown alongside Johannes van Overbeek.

In Prototype Challenge, four teams are currently entered.  Starworks Motorsport returns with their No. 8, but no drivers are currently listed in the roster.  As of last Monday, the team was openly looking on Twitter for a third driver.

Despite the retired Allan McNish openly campaigning to get the ride as an silver-rated amateur (he’s not one and wouldn’t get that rating until at least 2020), there is no news at the point to report about the open slot.  The list will likely update in the coming days.

BAR1 Motorsports’ No. 26 also has unannounced drivers in the car.  In the No. 20, Buddy Rice returns after missing Detroit.  He’s joined by regular Don Yount and Danny Burkett, back for the first time since Sebring.  He’ll likely be sans lumberjack firesuit.

In GT Le Mans, there are two big stories.  The first is one we touched on in Pace Laps on Monday.  Risi Competizione is not entered.  They are regrouping their effort and plan to be back at some point later this year.  As a result of the No. 62’s absence, there are only eight GTLM entries and no Ferraris.

The other interesting story of the week is Gianmaria Bruni making his debut in Porsche GT Team’s No. 912 Porsche 911 RSR alongside Laurens Vanthoor.  Bruni is a former Ferrari racer, having competed for AF Corse for years.  Before that, he drove for Risi Competizione here in the United States.  Putting Bruni in the No. 912 opens up Kevin Estre to focus solely on the FIA World Endurance Championship.  Given Bruni’s experience, he should have no trouble adjusting to the new Porsche.

In GT Daytona, 17 cars are entered.  Alex Job Racing, which is only running the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races, returns with Townsend Bell, Frankie Montecalvo and Bill Sweedler in the No. 23 Audi.  The Dream Racing Motorsport No. 27 Lamborghini (pictured above last year at Watkins Glen) is back as well with Lawrence DeGeorge, Paolo Ruberti and Cedric Sbirrazzuoli driving.  The team has not competed since Sebring and has seemingly been hinting at switching to Pirelli World Challenge.  DeGeorge had a huge crash last year in practice that wiped a chassis just before the Inner Loop.  He’ll be looking to substantially improve on that performance.

Michael Christensen is back in the No. 28 Porsche for Alegra Motorsports, replacing Porsche Junioren driver Mathieu Jaminet.  Christensen has missed the last two rounds due to WEC commitments.

Entry List: Sahlen's Six Hours at the Glen

Prototype2 - Tequila Patron ESMRyan Dalziel
Pipo Derani
Scott Sharp
Nissan DPi
GT Le Mans3 - Corvette RacingAntonio Garcia
Jan Magnussen
Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
GT Le Mans4 - Corvette RacingOliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
Prototype5 - Action Express RacingFilipe Albuquerque
Joao Barbosa
Christian Fittipaldi
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
Prototype Challenge8 - Starworks MotorsportTBAORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
Prototype10 - Wayne Taylor RacingJordan Taylor
Ricky Taylor
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
GT Daytona14 - 3GT RacingAustin Cindric
Sage Karam
Scott Pruett
Lexus RCF GT3
GT Daytona15 - 3GT RacingRobert Alon
Austin Cindric
Jack Hawksworth
Lexus RCF GT3
GT Daytona16 - Change RacingCorey Lewis
Jeroen Mul
Brett Sandberg
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
Prototype Challenge20 - BAR1 MotorsportsDanny Burkett
Buddy Rice
Don Yount
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
Prototype22 - Tequila Patron ESMEd Brown
Johannes van Overbeek
Bruno Senna
Nissan DPi
GT Daytona23 - Alex Job RacingTownsend Bell
Frankie Montecalvo
Bill Sweedler
Audi R8 LMS GT3
GT Le Mans24 - BMW Team RLLJohn Edwards
Martin Tomczyk
GT Le Mans25 - BMW Team RLLBill Auberlen
Alexander Sims
Prototype Challenge26 - BAR1 MotorsportsTBAORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona27 - Dream Racing MotorsportLawrence DeGeorge
Paolo Ruberti
Cedric Sbirrazzuoli
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
GT Daytona28 - Alegra MotorsportsMichael Christensen
Michael de Quesada
Daniel Morad
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype31 - Action Express RacingDane Cameron
Eric Curran
Cadillac DPi
GT Daytona33 - Riley MotorsportsJeroen Bleekemolen
Mario Farnbacher
Ben Keating
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype Challenge38 - Performance Tech MotorsportsJames French
Kyle Masson
Patricio O'Ward
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona48 - Paul Miller RacingBryan Sellers
Madison Snow
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
GT Daytona50 - Riley Motorsports/WeatherTech RacingGunnar Jeannette
Cooper MacNeil
Shane van Gisbergen
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype52 - PR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsJosé Gutierrez
Olivier Pla
Ligier JS P217-Gibson
GT Daytona54 - CORE autosportJon Bennett
Colin Braun
Nic Jonsson
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype55 - Mazda MotorsportsJonathan Bomarito
Tristan Nunez
Spencer Pigot
Mazda RT24-P
GT Daytona57 - Stevenson MotorsportsLawson Aschenbach
Andrew Davis
Audi R8 LMS GT3
GT Daytona63 - Scuderia CorsaAlessandro Balzan
Matteo Cressoni
Christina Nielsen
Ferrari 488 GT3
GT Le Mans66 - Ford Chip Ganassi RacingJoey Hand
Dirk Müller
Ford GT
GT Le Mans67 - Ford Chip Ganassi RacingRyan Briscoe
Richard Westbrook
Ford GT
Prototype70 - Mazda MotorsportsMarino Franchitti
Tom Long
Joel Miller
Mazda RT24-P
GT Daytona73 - Park Place MotorsportsJörg Bergmeister
Patrick Lindsey
Matt McMurry
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Daytona75 - SunEnergy1 RacingKenny Habul
Boris Said
Tristan Vautier
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype85 - JDC/Miller MotorSportsMikhail Goikhberg
Chris Miller
Stephen Simpson
ORECA 07-Gibson
GT Daytona86 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianOswaldo Negri Jr.
Jeff Segal
Acura NSX GT3
Prototype90 - Visit FloridaMarc Goossens
Renger van der Zande
Riley Mk. 30-Gibson
GT Daytona93 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianAndy Lally
Katherine Legge
Acura NSX GT3
GT Daytona96 - Turner MotorsportJens Klingmann
Justin Marks
GT Le Mans911 - Porsche GT TeamPatrick Pilet
Dirk Werner
Porsche 911 RSR
GT Le Mans912 - Porsche GT TeamGianmaria Bruni
Laurens Vanthoor
Porsche 911 RSR

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via