Race Weekend Central

Entry List: XFINITY Series Coca-Cola Firecracker 250

On Monday, NASCAR released the entry list for the XFINITY Series Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway.  43 cars are entered, meaning that three teams will have to pack up and leave early.

With the XFINITY Series supporting Cup once again, we have Cup drivers in the field for Friday night.  Ty Dillon is back in the No. 3 for Richard Childress Racing, replacing Scott Lagasse Jr.  Daniel Suarez is back in Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 18 Toyota, while Erik Jones is back in the No. 20.  Joey Logano is in the Team Penske No. 22 in place of Sam Hornish Jr.

None of those assignments would be surprising in the least.  However, JD Motorsports has entered a fourth car, the No. 15 Chevrolet for this weekend.  Corey LaJoie, who has spent most of the season driving BK Racing’s No. 83 in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, has been tapped to drive.  With no points to fall back on, LaJoie must time in 33rd or better Friday to make the race.

For non-Cup drivers, Jeb Burton is back in JGL Racing’s No. 24 Toyota this week.  Sponsorship will be provided by Estes Express Lines.  It will be Burton’s third start of the season after previously running at Texas and Bristol in April.  Burton is joined at JGL Racing by Lagasse, who brings Alert Today Florida backing to a third JGL entry (No. 26).  Like LaJoie, Lagasse will have to qualify in the top 33 in order to race.

Brandon Brown is back in the No. 90 Chevrolet for Brandonbilt Motorsports this weekend.  Sponsorship has been acquired from Horton Farms.  Brown will be running this patriotic scheme Friday night:

With Brown’s family operation running the No. 90 Friday night, Mario Gosselin will shift over to the No. 92.  He’ll have to qualify on speed.

Finally, Jeff Green has returned to BJ McLeod Motorsports to drive the team’s No. 8 Toyota.  He has not raced for the team since Talladega in May, but it should be noted that he DNQ’d the No. 78 at Charlotte.  Green’s best finish in the No. 8 was a 10th at Talladega.  BJ McLeod, who drove the No. 8 to a career-best 17th-place finish Saturday night in Iowa, shifts over to the No. 78, replacing Tommy Joe Martins.

Entry List: 2017 Coca-Cola Firecracker 250

00 - Stewart-Haas RacingCole CusterFord MustangHaas Automation
01 - JD MotorsportsHarrison RhodesChevrolet Camaroteamjdmotorsports.com
07 - SS-Green Light RacingRay Black Jr.Chevrolet CamaroScubaLife
0 - JD MotorsportsGarrett SmithleyChevrolet Camaroteamjdmotorsports.com
1 - JR MotorsportsElliott SadlerChevrolet CamaroArmour Vienna Sausage 150 Years
2 - Richard Childress RacingBen KenedyChevrolet CamaroRheem
3 - Richard Childress RacingTy Dillon(i)Chevrolet CamaroBass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats
4 - JD MotorsportsRoss ChastainChevrolet CamaroGK Services
5 - JR MotorsportsMichael AnnettChevrolet CamaroPilot Flying J
7 - JR MotorsportsJustin AllgaierChevrolet CamaroTradeMark Nitrogen
8 - BJ McLeod MotorsportsJeff GreenToyota CamryTBA
9 - JR MotorsportsWilliam ByronChevrolet CamaroAXALTA/Vorteq
11 - Kaulig RacingBlake KochChevrolet CamaroLeafFiler Gutter Protection
13 - MBM MotorsportsMark ThompsonToyota CamryPhoenix Air
14 - TriStar MotorsportsJJ YeleyToyota CamryTriStar Motorsports
15 - JD MotorsportsCorey LaJoie(i)Chevrolet Camaroteamjdmotorsports.com
16 - Roush Fenway RacingRyan ReedFord MustangLilly Diabetes
18 - Joe Gibbs RacingDaniel Suarez(i)Toyota CamryIBSA
19 - Joe Gibbs RacingMatt TifftToyota CamryComcast NBCUniversal Salute to Service
20 - Joe Gibbs RacingErik Jones(i)Toyota CamryGameStop/Turtle Beach
21 - Richard Childress RacingDaniel HemricChevrolet CamaroBlue Gate Bank
22 - Team PenskeJoey Logano(i)Ford MustangDiscount Tire
23 - GMS RacingSpencer GallagherChevrolet CamaroAllegiant Airlines
24 - JGL RacingJeb BurtonToyota CamryEstes Express Lines
25 - Cockrum RacingChris CockrumChevrolet CamaroAdvanced Communications Group
26 - JGL RacingScott Lagasse Jr.Toyota CamryAlert Today Florida/Florida Lottery
28 - JGL RacingDakoda ArmstrongToyota CamryWinField United
33 - Richard Childress RacingBrandon JonesChevrolet CamaroRain-X/Advance Auto Parts
39 - RSS RacingRyan SiegChevrolet CamaroRSS Racing
40 - MBM MotorsportsTimmy HillDodge ChallengerTBA
42 - Chip Ganassi RacingTyler ReddickChevrolet CamaroBroken Bow Records/Jason Aldean
48 - Chip Ganassi RacingBrennan PooleChevrolet CamaroDC Solar
51 - Jeremy Clements RacingJeremy ClementsChevrolet CamaroRepairableVehicles.com
52 - Jimmy Means RacingJoey GaseChevrolet CamaroSparks Energy
62 - Richard Childress RacingBrendan GaughanChevrolet CamaroUSAF Special Tactics/South Point Hotel & Casino
74 - Mike Harmon RacingMike HarmonDodge ChallengerVeterans Motorsports
78 - BJ McLeod MotorsportsBJ McLeodToyota CamryTBA
89 - Shepherd Motor VenturesMorgan ShepherdChevrolet CamaroVisone RV
90 - DGR MotorsportsBrandon BrownChevrolet CamaroHorton Farms
92 - DGR MotorsportsMario GosselinChevrolet CamaroTBA
93 - RSS RacingTBAChevrolet CamaroRSS Racing
98 - Biagi-DenBeste RacingCasey MearsFord MustangFresh From Florida
99 - BJ McLeod MotorsportsDavid StarrChevrolet CamaroTBA

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via