Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Chevrolet Sports Car Classic

The entry list for this weekend’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Chevrolet Sports Car Classic is out.  28 cars are entered.  There are a couple of changes of note, but not that many.  Also, make note that the GT Le Mans class is not competing this weekend due to the fact that half of the class is currently in France to prepare for Sunday’s Le Mans Test Day.

At least six drivers that will compete on Saturday will have to catch planes immediately after the race to get to Le Mans.  Those drivers are Alessandro Balzan, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Ben Keating, Christina Nielsen and the Taylor brothers (Jordan and Ricky).

In the Prototype class, the only change of note is that Tom Kimber-Smith returns to the No. 52 Ligier JS P217-Gibson for PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports, replacing Marco Bonanomi.  Kimber-Smith missed the COTA round to be with his mother.

Prototype Challenge sees a couple of changes for BAR1 Motorsports.  Buddy Rice is not on the entry list in the No. 20 this week.  He has been replaced by Ryan Lewis, who has two previous starts for the team.  The most recent of those was last year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona in the No. 26.

The revolving door of drivers in the No. 26 continues.  Gustavo Yacaman is unavailable this weekend, so Bruno Junqueira returns to drive the No. 26.  Last year, Junqueira drove the No. 20 full-time.

In GT Daytona, there aren’t any major changes of note.  Porsche Junioren driver Mathieu Jaminet, after a good debut in Austin, is back in the No. 28 Alegra Motorsports Porsche.  Regular driver Michael Christensen is in Le Mans due to his role with the Porsche GT Team in the World Endurance Championship.

Entry List: Chevrolet Sports Car Classic

Prototype2 - Tequila Patron ESMRyan Dalziel
Scott Sharp
Nissan DPi
Prototype5 - Action Express RacingJoao Barbosa
Christian Fittipaldi
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
Prototype10 - Wayne Taylor RacingJordan Taylor
Ricky Taylor
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
GT Daytona14 - 3GT RacingSage Karam
Scott Pruett
Lexus RC F GT3
GT Daytona15 - 3GT RacingRobert Alon
Jack Hawksworth
Lexus RC F GT3
GT Daytona16 - Change RacingCorey Lewis
Jeroen Mul
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
Prototype Challenge20 - BAR1 MotorsportsRyan Lewis
Don Yount
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
Prototype22 - Tequila Patron ESMEd Brown
Johannes van Overbeek
Nissan DPi
Prototype Challenge26 - BAR1 MotorsportsTomy Drissi
Bruno Junqueira
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona28 - Alegra MotorsportsMathieu Jaminet
Daniel Morad
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype31 - Action Express RacingDane Cameron
Eric Curran
Cadillac DPi-V.R.
GT Daytona33 - Riley MotorsportsJeroen Bleekemolen
Ben Keating
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype Challenge38 - Performance Tech MotorsportsJames French
Patricio O'Ward
ORECA FLM09-Chevrolet
GT Daytona48 - Paul Miller RacingBryan Sellers
Madison Snow
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
GT Daytona50 - Riley Motorsports/WeatherTech RacingGunnar Jeannette
Cooper MacNeil
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype52 - PR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsJosé Gutierrez
Tom Kimber-Smith
Ligier JS P217-Gibson
GT Daytona54 - CORE autosportJon Bennett
Colin Braun
Porsche 911 GT3 R
Prototype55 - Mazda MotorsportsJonathan Bomarito
Tristan Nunez
Mazda RT24-P
GT Daytona57 - Stevenson MotorsportsLawson Aschenbach
Andrew Davis
Audi R8 LMS GT3
GT Daytona63 - Scuderia CorsaAlessandro Balzan
Christina Nielsen
Ferrari 488 GT3
Prototype70 - Mazda MotorsportsTom Long
Joel Miller
Mazda RT24-P
GT Daytona73 - Park Place MotorsportsJörg Bergmeister
Patrick Lindsey
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Daytona75 - SunEnergy1 RacingKenny Habul
Tristan Vautier
Mercedes-AMG GT3
Prototype85 - JDC/Miller MotorSportsMikhail Goikhberg
Stephen Simpson
ORECA 07-Gibson
GT Daytona86 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianOswaldo Negri Jr.
Jeff Segal
Acura NSX GT3
Prototype90 - Visit Florida RacingMarc Goossens
Renger van der Zande
Riley Mk. 30-Gibson
GT Daytona93 - Michael Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianAndy Lally
Katherine Legge
Acura NSX GT3
GT Daytona96 - Turner MotorsportBret Curtis
Jens Klingmann

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via