Race Weekend Central

35 Entered for CTSC Sebring 120; Multimatic Motorsports Out

On Wednesday, IMSA released the entry list for the Sebring 120, the second race of the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge season that will run on St. Patrick’s Day at Sebring International Raceway.  35 cars are entered in a somewhat even split between the Grand Sport and Street Tuner classes.

In Grand Sport, the biggest change is that Multimatic Motorsports is not entered with their No. 15 Ford Mustang GT4.  However, there will still be two Ford Mustang GT4’s on the grid as Jade Buford and Scott Maxwell will drive a second entry (No. 60) for KohR Motorsports.  According to Ford Performance’s Lachelle Laney, Multimatic is now focusing on giving customer support for the Ford Mustang GT4 instead of fielding their own entry.  KohR Motorsports will run two full-time entries in the CTSC for the remainder of the season.  It is currently unclear if Buford and Maxwell will drive the No. 60 for the rest of the season, or if another Mustang GT4 may materialize.  An announcement for drivers for the rest of the season is forthcoming.

Also, Jack Roush Jr. is in KohR Motorsports’ No. 59, replacing Cameron Magueri.  Roush will be in the No. 59 for the rest of the season.

Automatic Racing/VOLT Racing has only entered one car for Alan Brynjolfsson and Chris Hall.  The No. 2 entry only briefly practiced in Daytona and ultimately did not start the race.  Automatic Racing’s Aston Martin division is also only running one car, the No. 99.

Also, GMG Racing is not currently listed on the entry list.  In Daytona, the team had two Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsports.

Street Tuner has 18 entries, down from 20 in Daytona.  The two teams that are not entered this week are the No. 6 Porsche Cayman from Rebel Rock Racing and Kris Wright‘s No. 22 Porsche Cayman that is affiliated with Rebel Rock Racing.  Wright will still be busy in Sebring in IMSA Prototype Challenge.

For Murillo Racing, the team raced as a three-car operation at Daytona.  Eric Foss and Jeff Mosing raced the No. 56 while Brent Mosing, Tim Probert and Justin Piscitell drove the new No. 65 Porsche Cayman.  Meanwhile, Christian Szymczak and Christopher Stone raced the No. 43 Porsche Cayman, which had formerly been the No. 38 for the Next Level European team last season.  The No. 43 retired after the windshield was smashed by debris.

For Szymczak and Stone, they’re switching cars for Sebring.  They’ll still be racing for Murillo Racing, but they will race the No. 34 Mazda MX-5.  This particular car was in Daytona on the team’s transporter as a backup car.

The only other driver change of note is with MINI JCW Team.  Nate Norenberg is out of the No. 52.  Jared Salinsky will drive in his place.  In addition, the No. 52 will carry new sponsorship from Fuse Lenses.  With that sponsorship comes a new paint scheme, as seen in this Instagram post from Salinsky’s co-driver, Mark Pombo.


2017 Sebring 120 Entry List

Grand Sport3 - The Racers GroupCraig Lyons
Kris Wilson
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
Grand Sport4 - TeamTGMTed Giovanis
Guy Cosmo
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
Grand Sport7 - Automatic Racing/VOLT RacingAlan Brynjolfsson
Chris Hall
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport12 - Bodymotion RacingCameron Cassels
Trent Hindman
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Grand Sport21 - Muehlner Motorsports AmericaCameron Lawrence
Chuck Quinlon
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Grand Sport28 - Rennsport OneDillon Machavern
Dylan Murcott
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
Grand Sport33 - CJ Wilson RacingTill Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Grand Sport35 - CJ Wilson RacingDamien Faulkner
Russell Ward
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Grand Sport38 - BGB RacingJames Cox
John Tecce
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
Grand Sport59 - KohR MotorsportsDean Martin
Jack Roush Jr.
Ford Mustang GT4
Grand Sport60 - KohR MotorsportsJade Buford
Scott Maxwell
FoDraddddddddddrd Mustang GT4
Grand Sport68 - Motorsports In ActionRod Randall
Kenny Wilden
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport69 - Motorsports In ActionChris Green
Jesse Lazare
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport76 - C360RPaul Holton
Matt Plumb
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport77 - C360RMatthew Keegan
Nico Rondet
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport99 - Automatic RacingAl Carter
Rob Ecklin Jr.
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
Street Tuner17 - Rennsport OneNick Galante
Spencer Pumpelly
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner18 - Rennsport OneConnor Bloum
Aurora Straus
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner25 - Freedom AutosportStevan McAleer
Chad McCumbee
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner26 - Freedom AutosportAndrew Carbonell
Liam Dwyer
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner27 - Freedom AutosportBritt Casey Jr.
Robby Foley
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner31 - Bodymotion RacingDrake Kemper
Devin Jones
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner34 - Murillo RacingChristian Smyzczak
Christopher Stone
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner37 - MINI JCW TeamMike LaMarra
James Vance
Street Tuner44 - CRG-I Do BorrowSarah Cattaneo
Owen Trinkler
Nissan Altima
Street Tuner52 - MINI JCW TeamMark Pombo
Jared Salinsky
Street Tuner54 - JDC/Miller MotorSportsMichael Johnson
Stephen Simpson
BMW 228i
Street Tuner56 - Murillo RacingEric Foss
Jeff Mosing
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner65 - Murillo RacingBrent Mosing
Tim Probert
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner73 - MINI JCW TeamDerek Jones
Mat Pombo
Street Tuner75 - C360RRoy Block
Pierre Kleinubing
Audi S3
Street Tuner81 - BimmerWorld RacingAri Balogh
Greg Liefooghe
BMW 328i
Street Tuner84 - BimmerWorld RacingJames Clay
Tyler Cooke
BMW 328i

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via