Race Weekend Central

William Byron Wins Pole For Inaugural Truck Series Chase Race

In the final round of qualifying for the Camping World Truck Series, William Byron posted a lap of 132.864 mph, which awarded him the pole. The five-time winner this season was fastest in all three rounds.

Over a tenth of a second behind Byron was Timothy Peters (132.374 mph), who will start alongside the No. 9 truck on the front row. The second Kyle Busch Motorsports driver Christopher Bell will start third (132.296 mph).

The next three positions were filled by non-Chase drivers, starting with Tyler Reddick in fourth (131.601 mph), Ben Rhodes (131.542 mph) and Brett Moffitt (132.488 mph).

Other Chase drivers will start the 175 lap race from seventh and back, starting with Matt Crafton. Johnny Sauter was 10th on the board, while his GMS teammate Ben Kennedy was 12th.

Two Chase drivers failed to make the final round of qualifying. Daniel Hemric will begin the race from 13th and John Hunter Nemechek will be in the next row back (15th).

There were two spins in the opening round of qualifying, the first by Stewart Friesen who qualified for his third career Truck Series race.

Green flag is set to fly over the inaugural Truck Series Chase shortly after 1:00 p.m ET.

About the author

 | Website

Dustin joined the Frontstretch team at the beginning of the 2016 season. 2020 marks his sixth full-time season covering the sport that he grew up loving. His dream was to one day be a NASCAR journalist, thus why he attended Ithaca College (Class of 2018) to earn a journalism degree. Since the ripe age of four, he knew he wanted to be a storyteller.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via