Race Weekend Central

Anthony Martin Holds Off Parker Thompson for USF2000 Mid-Ohio Win

Anthony Martin came into the penultimate weekend for the USF2000 season at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course needing a big weekend to close the 20-point gap to teammate Parker Thompson in points.

After three strong races, Martin not only closed the gap, he surged into the lead.

Martin geld off Thompson by .3101 seconds from the pole over a caution-free 22 laps to claim the third and final race of the Honda Mid-Ohio for USF2000.

With the victory, Martin moves to 19 points ahead of his Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing teammate in the championship standings. Thompson was able to drop the gap to 19 points after snagging the bonus point for fastest lap in the race’s final circuit.

Garth Rickards made his way to third and held off Victor Franzoni and Jordan Lloyd to score his first-career podium for Pabst Racing.

Franzoni and Llord rounded out the top five, with Dakota Dickerson, Robert Megennis, Nikita Lasochkin, Yufeng Luo and Austin McCusker completing the top 10.

20 of the 21 eligible drivers started and completed the 22-lap event. While there were no cautions, there were multiple issues throughout the field.

Lucas Kohl was forced to battle his way through the field to finish 12th after going off-course early in the event. Luke Gabin went off-course twice in the 22 laps, relegating the JAY Motorsports driver to 16th. Cameron Das finished 20th after suffering a spin midway through the event.

Jordan Cane and Sam Chastain both dropped outside of the top 10 after penalties for avoidable contact. Cane ultimately finished 14th, with Chastain dropping to 18th.

USF2000 will return on Sept. 10-11 for their final race weekend of 2016 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.


  1. Anthony Martin
  2. Parker Thompson
  3. Garth Rickards
  4. Victor Franzoni
  5. Jordan Lloyd
  6. Dakota Dickerson
  7. Robert Megennis
  8. Nikita Lastochkin
  9. Yufeng Luo
  10. Austin McCusker
  11. Ayla Agren
  12. Lucas Kohl
  13. Michai Stephens
  14. Jordan Cane
  15. Tazio Ottis
  16. Luke Gabin
  17. Clint McMahon
  18. Sam Chastain
  19. Christian Munoz
  20. Cameron Das
Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via