Race Weekend Central

Pato O’Ward Dominates Pro Mazda Again in Angie’s List Grand Prix Race 2

Continuing the trend of the season, Team Pelfrey’s Pato O’Ward made Indianapolis Motor Speedway his playground in Saturday’s Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Race 2.

O’Ward led all 29 laps from the pole to dominate the second Pro Mazda event of the weekend, claiming his fifth victory in six 2016 races for the series in the process.

O’Ward’s Team Pelfrey teammate Aaron Telitz crossed the line 4.706 seconds back to claim a runner-up result, with Juncos Racing’s Will Owen rounding out the podium a full 21.698 seconds off pace.

Nico Jamin and Garett Grist rounded out the top five, with Jake Parsons, Jake Eidson, Nicolas Dapero, Bobby Eberle and Kevin Davis completing the top 10.

Bob Kaminsky and Jay Horak finished a lap off-pace to finish the 12-car grid.

O’Ward’s win saw Team Pelfrey’s winning streak extend to six races to start the 2016 season, with Telitz claiming the only event O’Ward has failed to capture.

The Pro Mazda field will return on May 27, when the field heads to Lucas Oil Raceway for the Freedom 90.


About the author

A graduate of Ball State, Aaron rejoins Frontstretch for his second season in 2016 following a successful year that included covering seven races and starting the popular "Two-Headed Monster" column in 2015. Now in his third year of covering motorsports, Aaron serves as an Assistant Editor for Frontstretch while also contributing to other popular sites including Speed51 and The Apex. He encourages you to come say hi when you see him at the track.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via