Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2015 Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona

After taking a week off, the NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) is ready to raise the intensity in one of the season’s biggest races.

NASCAR released the entry list for the July 4 NXS Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway earlier today (June 29). The list included 44 drivers, meaning that four will fail to make Saturday’s race.

Joe Gibbs Racing offered the biggest surprise on the entry list. The team will have a Sprint Cup Series veteran in their stable, but not one fans are accustomed to. David Ragan, who piloted Kyle Busch‘s No. 18 Toyota in the Cup Series, will drive the team’s No. 20 Interstate Batteries Toyota this weekend. Ragan, who made six starts in NXS competition for Biagi-Denbeste Racing in 2014, will be joined by Chicagoland winner Erik Jones in the No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota. Busch, who was injured in the last NXS race at Daytona, will skip this event to focus on the Cup race.

JR Motorsports will bring back it’s No. 88 Chevrolet this weekend, with Kasey Kahne behind the wheel. Kahne, 35, has two top-five finishes in three starts for this team this season, including a third-place result at Charlotte.

Daytona 500 winner Joey Logano will get run his first race at Daytona since his February triumph, piloting Team Penske’s No. 22 Discount Tire Ford. 2013 NXS champion Austin Dillon will also return to the series, driving the No. 33 Rheem Chevrolet for Richard Childress Motorsports.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series will return to action at Daytona International Speedway on July 3 for two practice sessions, before returning on July 4 for Coors Light Pole Qualifying (2:35 p.m. ET, NBC Sports Network). Coverage of the Subway Firecracker 250 will begin at 7:45 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network.


0Harrison Rhodesteamjdmotorsports.com15 ChevyAndrea Nemechek
1Landon CassillFlex Seal15 ChevyJohnny Davis
1Elliott SadlerOneMain Financial Ford Mustang15 FordJack Roush
2Brian ScottShore Lodge15 ChevyRichard Childress
3Ty DillonYuengling Light Lager15 ChevyRichard Childress
4Ross Chastainteamjdmotorsports.com15 ChevyGary Keller
6Darrell Wallace JrCheez-it Ford Mustang15 FordJack Roush
7Regan SmithFire Alarm Services15 ChevyKelley Earnhardt-Miller
8Blake KochCelsius Healthy Energy Cola15 ToyotaMark Smith
9Chase ElliottNAPA AUTO PARTS15 ChevyDale Earnhardt Jr
13Mark ThompsonPhoenix Air15 DodgeDerek White
14Cale ConleyIAVA15 ToyotaMark Smith
15Scott Lagasse JrTBA15 ChevyRick Ware
16Ryan ReedLilly/American Diabetes Association Ford Mustang15 FordJack Roush
18Daniel SuarezARRIS15 ToyotaJoe Gibbs
19Jeff GreenTriStar Motorsports15 ToyotaMark Smith
20David Ragan(i)Interstate Batteries15 ToyotaJoe Gibbs
22Joey Logano(i)Discount Tire15 FordRoger Penske
24Eric McClureHefty Easy Grip Cups15 ToyotaMark Smith
25John Wes Townley(i)Zaxby's15 ChevyTony Townley
26Timmy Hill(i)JGL Racing15 ToyotaJames Whitener
28J J YeleyTexas 28 Spirits Stage15 ToyotaGregg Mixon
33Austin Dillon(i)Rheem15 ChevyRichard Childress
37Chris CockrumAdvanced Communications Group15 ChevyLynn Cockrum
39Ryan SiegUncle Bob's Self Storage14 ChevyRod Sieg
40Derek WhiteBraille Battery / Grafoid15 DodgeDerek White
42Brennan PooleDC Solar15 ChevyHarry Scott Jr
43Dakoda ArmstrongWinField15 FordRichard Petty
44David StarrZachry15 ToyotaMark Smith
51Jeremy ClementsBRT Extrusions/ All South Electric15 ChevyTony Clements
52Joey GaseTBA15 ChevyJimmy Means
54Erik Jones(i)Monster Energy15 ToyotaJ D Gibbs
60Chris BuescherBit-O-Honey Ford Mustang15 FordJack Roush
62Brendan GaughanSouth Point15 ChevyRichard Childress
66Benny GordonSomerset Regional Water Resources/VSI Racing15 ChevyLarry Mostoller
70Derrike CopeBulletproof Energy Drink14 ChevyMary Louise Miller
74Mike HarmonFatBobsGarage.com13 DodgeMike Harmon
85Bobby GerhartLucas Oil15 ChevyWilliam Gerhart
88Kasey Kahne(i)Ragu15 ChevyRick Hendrick
89Morgan ShepherdCountney Construction15 ChevyMorgan Shepherd
90Martin RoyGamache Truck Center15 ChevyMichelle Gosselin
92Mario GosselinCrashClaimsR.us15 ChevyBobby Dotter
97Peyton SellersVroomBrands15 ChevyVictor Obaika
98Aric Almirola(i)Fresh from Florida15 FordFred Biagi

About the author

A graduate of Ball State, Aaron rejoins Frontstretch for his second season in 2016 following a successful year that included covering seven races and starting the popular "Two-Headed Monster" column in 2015. Now in his third year of covering motorsports, Aaron serves as an Assistant Editor for Frontstretch while also contributing to other popular sites including Speed51 and The Apex. He encourages you to come say hi when you see him at the track.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via