Race Weekend Central

Chip Ganassi Racing Makes Changes to Kyle Larson’s Pit Crew

The pit crew of the No. 42 car will have a different look at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

According to PitTalks, four members from Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates have been reassigned from Kyle Larson‘s team.

Chris McMullen, Doug Riepe, Mark Jannsen and Terry Dennis have been given the option to join one of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pit crews that are aligned with Ganassi’s organization.

Aaron Schields and Ed Watkins are the only remaining members of the pit crew that started the season on the No. 42 team.

Dennis has opted to become a free agent, but the other crew members will likely be joining Tommy Baldwin Racing’s No. 7 car or HScott Motorsports’ No. 46 car.

Nick Krizmanich, Graham Molach, Steve Tautges and Gene Cornwell will take over the four positions within Larson’s pit crew moving forward. Cornwell has worked for Hendrick Motorsports over the past few seasons, while Krizmanich worked with Joe Gibbs Racing and Team Penske.

Larson led the way during first practice with a time of 28.117 seconds.

There is no word whether or not teammate Jamie McMurray‘s pit crew will see any changes at this time.

About the author

Joseph started with Fronstretch in Aug. 2014 and worked his way up to become an editor in less than a year. A native of Whitestone, New York, Joseph writes for NASCAR Pole Position magazine as a weekly contributor, along with being a former intern at Newsday and the Times Beacon Record Newspapers, each on Long Island. With a focus on NASCAR, he runs our social media pages and writes the NASCAR Mailbox column, along with other features for the site.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via