Race Weekend Central

Martin Truex Jr. Wins 2011 AAA 400 Pole at Dover

DOVER, Del. – Martin Truex Jr. put his No. 56 NAPA Toyota on the pole for Sunday’s AAA 400 at Dover (Oct. 2). It was Truex’s second pole at the Monster Mile, with his first coming in the May 2010 event. Dover, which is also the New Jersey native’s home track, marks the location of his first Sprint Cup victory in 2007.

Kurt Busch will start alongside Truex and was just three one-thousands of a second slower than the polesitter. Rounding out the top 10 are Paul Menard, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, AJ Allmendinger, Bobby Labonte, Kasey Kahne and Greg Biffle.

Other notables include the spring Dover winner, Matt Kenseth, who qualified 18th. The winner of the last two Cup races, Tony Stewart qualified his Office Depot Chevrolet in 28th. Jeff Gordon struggled to a 34th-place effort.


About the author

Richmond, Virginia native. Wake Forest University class of 2008. Affiliated with Frontstretch since 2008, as of today the site's first dirt racing commentator. Emphasis on commentary. Big race fan, bigger First Amendment advocate.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via