Race Weekend Central

Numbers Game: 2011 Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen


Drivers in the top 30 in the Sprint Cup standings without a top-10 finish. Jeff Burton became the final top 30 driver to score a top 10 with a ninth-place finish on Monday (Aug. 15).


Drivers from Australia to win in the Sprint Cup Series. Marcos Ambrose became the first driver to pull off the feat on Monday.


Points separating Ambrose from the top 20 in the Sprint Cup standings after his win. To be eligible for the Chase, Ambrose must be in the top 20.


Ambrose’s average finishing position in four Sprint Cup starts at Watkins Glen. He has been third twice, second once and first once.


The starting position of the last two Sprint Cup winners at Watkins Glen. Juan Pablo Montoya (2010) and Ambrose (2011) each started third.


Races extended past the scheduled distance in 2011 in the Sprint Cup Series.


Sprint Cup drivers to record their first career victory in 2011. Ambrose joined David Ragan, Paul Menard, Regan Smith and Trevor Bayne. The last time there were five different first-time winners was 2002.


Top-10 finishes for Kyle Busch in seven starts at Watkins Glen.


Sprint Cup drivers to finish in the top 10 in both road-course races in 2011. Ambrose, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr. and Joey Logano all completed the feat.


Times Dale Earnhardt Jr. has finished outside the top 10 in his last eight races. He was 15th on Monday.


Top-10 finishers at Sonoma to finish in the top 13 at Watkins Glen. Kurt Busch, who finished 38th, was the only driver to not find success in the second road-course event.


AJ Allmendinger’s average finishing position in four career starts at Watkins Glen. After getting bumped through the grass while leading early on Monday, Allmendinger powered back to finish eighth.


Different Sprint Cup drivers to win in the first 22 races of 2011. There were only 13 different winners all of last season and the record for most in a season is 19.


The average finishing position of Sprint Cup drivers following a win in the previous Sprint Cup race in 2011. After winning at Pocono, Keselowski finished second at Watkins Glen.


Races it took Ambrose to win his first career Sprint Cup race.


The point total of Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards after 22 races. They are tied for the lead in the Sprint Cup standings.


Laps completed this season by Joe Nemechek through 22 Sprint Cup races. He ran 12 laps at Watkins Glen on his way to a 40th-place finish.


Laps led this season by Kyle Busch in the Sprint Cup Series, a number that leads all drivers. He paced the field for 49 laps and finished third on Monday at Watkins Glen, meaning Busch has led in 16 of the first 22 races.


The last time Tony Stewart finished worse than seventh at Watkins Glen. He was 27th on Sunday after wrecking on the last lap.


The last time crew chief Todd Parrott won a race in the Sprint Cup Series before Ambrose won Sunday. Before that, Parrott last won with Dale Jarrett at Talladega.

About the author

The Frontstretch Staff is made up of a group of talented men and women spread out all over the United States and Canada. Residing in 15 states throughout the country, plus Ontario, and widely ranging in age, the staff showcases a wide variety of diverse opinions that will keep you coming back for more week in and week out.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via