Race Weekend Central

Major Crew Chief Shakeup at Hendrick Motorsports

On the heels of Jimmie Johnson‘s historic fifth consecutive championship, Hendrick Motorsports has announced a major shakeup in their organization. Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin and Dale Earnhardt Jr. will each have a new crew chief for the 2011 season while the No. 48 team remains unchanged. The following personnel changes are effective immediately:

See also
Full Throttle: Hendrick Motorsports Makes Major Changes - Desperation or Brilliance?

No. 5 Chevrolet

Driver: Mark Martin
Crew Chief: Lance McGrew

No. 24 Chevrolet

Driver: Jeff Gordon
Crew Chief: Alan Gustafson

No. 88 Chevrolet

Driver: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Crew Chief: Steve Letarte

Along with the crew chief changes, HMS announced a shop realignment. Now, the No. 5 and No. 24 teams will be housed in the same shop while the No. 88 and No. 48 teams will be paired up.

“This will improve us as an organization, across the board,” team owner Rick Hendrick said. “We had a championship season (in 2010), but we weren’t where we wanted and needed to be with all four teams. We’ve made the right adjustments and I’m excited to go racing with this lineup.”

About the author

The Frontstretch Staff is made up of a group of talented men and women spread out all over the United States and Canada. Residing in 15 states throughout the country, plus Ontario, and widely ranging in age, the staff showcases a wide variety of diverse opinions that will keep you coming back for more week in and week out.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via