Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2018 Rinnai 250

For Saturday’s XFINITY Series Rinnai 250, there are 43 cars entered.  As a result, three teams will fail to qualify.

As is the norm these days with the eligibility rules, there are a number of changes.  At Chip Ganassi Racing, Kyle Larson is out of the No. 42 Chevrolet and John Hunter Nemechek will make his XFINITY Series debut.  He’ll have sponsorship from Fire Alarm Systems, a company that has backed him off and on in the Camping World Truck Series over the past couple of years.

Austin Cindric‘s ride switcheroo begins this weekend as he steps into Team Penske’s No. 12 Ford with sponsorship from Fitzgerald Glider Kits.  Meanwhile, the No. 60 that Cindric drove at Daytona will be occupied by Chase Briscoe.  Briscoe will be making his XFINITY Series debut in the Roush Fenway Racing Ford with factory backing.

Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon will hand off the No. 3 Chevrolet to his younger brother Ty.  Red Kap and ALSCO will co-sponsor the car in place of Bass Pro Shops/Cabela’s.

For Joe Gibbs Racing, Kyle Benjamin will return to the team and drive the No. 18 Toyota with backing from Peak.  Last weekend, Joe Gibbs Racing announced that Benjamin will only have two races with the team in 2018.  They will be Atlanta and the July race at Iowa.

A couple of the smaller squads are executing multiple driver changes.  At RSS Racing, Ryan Sieg and JJ Yeley are switching cars for Atlanta, a crucial home race for the team.  Sieg will be back in the No. 39, while Yeley will be in the No. 93.  Jeff Green remains in the No. 38.

At BJ McLeod Motorsports, Tommy Joe Martins returns to the team to drive the No. 8 in place of Caesar Bacarella.  Team owner BJ McLeod will drive the No. 78 in place of Ryan Ellis.  The team’s No. 99 is also entered, but currently does not have a driver listed.  Ray Black Jr. attempted to qualify for Saturday’s PowerShares QQQ 300 in the No. 99, but failed to make the field.

As previously announced, Matt Mills will make his season debut with JD Motorsports with Gary Keller.  However, the team announced a number switch on Tuesday.  As a result, Mills will make his season debut in the No. 0 Chevrolet.  Garrett Smithley, fresh off of a career-best fifth-place finish on Saturday, will drive the No. 15.

Entry List: 2018 Rinnai 250

00 - Stewart-Haas RacingCole CusterHAAS AutomationFord
01 - JD Motorsports with Gary KellerVinnie MillerJAS TruckingChevrolet
0 - JD Motorsports with Gary KellerMatt Millsteamjdmotorsports.comChevrolet
1 - JR MotorsportsElliott SadlerOneMain FinancialChevrolet
2 - Richard Childress RacingMatt TifftTBAChevrolet
3 - Richard Childress RacingTy Dillon (i)Red Kap/ALSCOChevrolet
4 - JD Motorsports with Gary KellerRoss Chastainteamjdmotorsports.comChevrolet
5 - JR MotorsportsMichael AnnettPilot Flying JChevrolet
7 - JR MotorsportsJustin AllgaierRinnaiChevrolet
8 - BJ McLeod MotorsportsTommy Joe MartinsTBAChevrolet
9 - JR MotorsportsTyler ReddickNationwide Children's HospitalChevrolet
11 - Kaulig RacingRyan TruexBar Harbor/SeaWatch InternationalChevrolet
12 - Team PenskeAustin CindricFitzgerald Glider KitsFord
15 - JD Motorsports with Gary KellerGarrett Smithleyteamjdmotorsports.comChevrolet
16 - Roush Fenway RacingRyan ReedDrive Down A1C Lilly DiabetesFord
18 - Joe Gibbs RacingKyle BenjaminPeak Coolant & AntifreezeToyota
19 - Joe Gibbs RacingBrandon JonesMenardsToyota
20 - Joe Gibbs RacingChristopher BellRuudToyota
21 - Richard Childress RacingDaniel HemricSouth Point Hotel & CasinoChevrolet
22 - Team PenskeJoey Logano (i)Discount TireFord
23 - GMS RacingSpencer GallagherAllegiantChevrolet
24 - JGL RacingKaz GralaMarlow's TavernFord
28 - JGL RacingDylan LuptonthinQ Technology PartnersFord
35 - Go Green RacingJoey GaseDonateLifeGeorgia.org/Sparks EnergyChevrolet
36 - DGM RacingAlex LabbeCan-Am/Wholey/Cyclops GearChevrolet
38 - RSS RacingJeff GreenRSS RacingChevrolet
39 - RSS RacingRyan SiegRSS RacingChevrolet
40 - Motorspots Business ManagementChad FinchumSmithbilt HolmesToyota
42 - Chip Ganassi RacingJohn Hunter NemechekFire Alarm SystemsChevrolet
45 - JP MotorsportsJosh BilickiPrevagenToyota
51 - Jeremy Clements RacingJeremy ClementsRepairableVehicles.comChevrolet
52 - Jimmy Means RacingDavid StarrTBAChevrolet
55 - JP MotorsportsStephen LeichtJani-KingChevrolet
60 - Roush Fenway RacingChase BriscoeFord MustangFord
66 - Motorsports Business ManagementTimmy HillTBADodge
74 - Mike Harmon RacingMike HarmonTBAChevrolet
76 - SS-Green Light RacingSpencer BoydGrunt StyleChevrolet
78 - BJ McLeod MotorsportsBJ McLeodTBAChevrolet
89 - Shepherd Racing VenturesMorgan ShepherdVisone RVChevrolet
90 - DGM RacingJosh WilliamsStarTronChevrolet
93 - RSS RacingJJ YeleyRSS RacingChevrolet
98 - Biagi-DenBeste RacingKevin Harvick (i)Hunt Brothers PizzaFord
99 - BJ McLeod MotorspotsTBATBAChevrolet


About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via