Dillon Machavern Quickest in CTSC Roar Session No. 2

2017 Lime Rock Ctsc Dylan Murcott Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

For the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, Session No. 2 was ultimately very similar.  Ford Mustang GT4s dominated the chart for the vast majority of the session.  However, in the final five minutes, defending Grand Sport champion Dillon Machavern put his No. 28 Porsche for Rennsport One on top of the sheet with a lap of …

Read more

Scott Pruett to Retire After Rolex 24 at Daytona

2010 Watkins Glen Cup Scott Pruett Tyler Barrick

(Photo: Tyler Barrick Autostock)

On Friday afternoon at Daytona International Speedway, Scott Pruett held a press conference to celebrate his 50 years in motorsports.  During that press conference, he announced that he will retire from racing following the Rolex 24 at Daytona at the end of the month. For the 57-year old Pruett, racing at Daytona means just a …

Read more

Filipe Albuquerque Leads Cadillac 1-2-3-4 in Roar Session No. 1

2017 Daytona Iwsc Joao Barbosa Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

Last year, the Cadillac DPi-V.R.s were the class of the field in Daytona.  The 2018 Roar Before the 24 started out in a similar fashion.  Action Express Racing’s Filipe Albuquerque was fastest overall in the first session with a lap of 97.266 seconds (131.762 mph).  Pace-wise, Albuquerque’s lap was nearly three-eights of a second slower …

Read more

Spencer Pumpelly Fastest in Opening CTSC Roar Session

2016 Daytona Iwsc Spencer Pumpelly Driver Credit Austin Gager

(Photo: Austin Gager)

IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge teams braved 40 degree temperatures for their opening session of the Roar Before the 24 on Friday.  For the vast majority of the session, Multimatic Motorsports was on top with their Ford Mustang GT4s.  However, with four minutes remaining, Rennsport One’s Spencer Pumpelly turned in a lap of 116.066 seconds …

Read more

Magnus Racing Announces Full-Time IMSA Return for 2018

2016 Lime Rock Iwsc John Potter Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Thursday, Magnus Racing announced that it will return to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship full-time in 2018.  Team owner John Potter and the previously announced Andy Lally will reunite and drive the No. 44 Audi R8 LMS GT3 full-time.  Andrew Davis, previously of Stevenson Motorsports, will compete in the Tequila Patron North American Endurance …

Read more

Risi Competizione Unveils 2-Car Rolex 24 Assault

2017 Daytona Iwsc Toni Vilander Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Wednesday afternoon, Risi Competizione made it official that they will field two Ferraris in the Rolex 24 at Daytona later this month.  The team’s GT Le Mans-class No. 62 Ferrari 488 GTE will be joined by the No. 82 Ferrari 488 GT3 that will compete in the GT Daytona class. The GTE contender will …

Read more

Austin Cindric, Devlin DeFrancesco Complete Banana Boat Rolex 24 Lineup

2017 Kentucky I Cwts Austin Cindric Barry Cantrell Nkp

(Photo: Barry Cantrell/NKP)

On Friday, JDC-Miller MotorSports announced that a couple of teenagers, Austin Cindric and Devlin DeFrancesco, will round out the driving lineup for the team’s No. 85 ORECA 07-Gibson (nicknamed the “Banana Boat”) at Daytona.  They’ll join up with regular drivers Robert Alon and Simon Trummer to form what could be a very quick quartet. Cindric …

Read more

Entry List: Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge Roar Before the 24

2017 Daytona Ctsc Jade Buford Car Credit Ford Performance

(Photo: Ford Performance)

For the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, next week’s Roar Before the 24 is the beginning of a transition season for the series.  So far, it looks like it may result in a more top-heavy series. There are 40 teams entered in the season opening Roar Before the 24.  However, 28 of those teams are …

Read more

Entry List: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Roar Before the 24

Over the past few weeks, there has been a lot of discussion about which teams will attempt the Rolex 24 in 2018.  The mandatory Roar Before the 24 test sessions in early January give viewers a look at who will be there.  As of Wednesday, there are 50 teams entered for the three-day test. On …

Read more

P1 Motorsports Unveils GT Daytona Effort for 2018 Endurance Races

2018 Iwsc P1 Motorsports Car P1 Motorsports

(Photo: P1 Motorsports)

On Wednesday, P1 Motorsports announced their intentions to expand into the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT Daytona class for a limited schedule in 2018.  The team has acquired a Mercedes-AMG GT3 and will race in the four Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races.  Unlike the picture above, the team will use No. 71. Drivers …

Read more

Jackie Chan DC Racing JOTA Unveils Lineup for 2nd Daytona Entry

2017 Bahrain Wec Ho Pin Tung Car Marcel Langer Adrenalmedia.com

(Photo: Marcel Langer @AdrenalMedia.com)

On Christmas Eve, Jackie Chan DC Racing JOTA announced their driver lineup for their second ORECA 07-Gibson at Daytona.  It is a mix of team regulars and a couple of newcomers. Alex Brundle, who drove the team’s No. 37 full-time in the FIA World Endurance Championship this year, will be joined by Ho-Pin Tung, who …

Read more

Newly Rechristened Spirit of Daytona Racing Opts for Cadillac DPi in 2018

2017 Road America Iwsc Renger Van Der Zande Car Brian Cleary Bcpix

(Photo: Brian Cleary/BCPix.com)

On Friday afternoon, Spirit of Daytona Racing (formerly Visit Florida Racing) announced that they will switch from the Ligier JS P217-Gibson (pictured above) to a Cadillac DPi-V.R. for the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.  In addition, the team will have an all-new driver lineup.  The No. 90 Cadillac will be driven full-time by Matt …

Read more