Race Weekend Central

NASCAR 101: Who Didn’t Return to NASCAR in 2019?

#95: Kasey Kahne, Leavine Family Racing, Chevrolet Camaro Procore Monster Energy Nascar Cup Series

(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photography)

In what’s become an annual segment on NASCAR 101 (wait, this is year five? Time is a flat circle), this week takes a look at the drivers who didn’t return to NASCAR in 2019. Now, that phrase sounds a bit more absolute than it actually ends up being. Each year, we discuss the drivers from NASCAR’s …

Read more

Luke Lambert Will Be Chris Buescher’s Crew Chief in 2020

2019 Las Vegas I Cup Daniel Hemric Luke Lambert Nkp

(Photo: NKP)

Luke Lambert will be Chris Buescher‘s crew chief in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in 2020, Roush Fenway Racing announced Tuesday, Nov. 5. Lambert joins the team from Richard Childress Racing, where he most recently worked with Daniel Hemric in the Cup Series. He’s won races with the team as Ryan Newman‘s crew chief. …

Read more

Ty Majeski Making Truck Debut at ISM

2018 Xfinity Richmond Zach Catanzareti Ty Majeski

(Photo: Zach Catanzareti)

Ty Majeski will return to the NASCAR national series circuit this weekend at ISM Raceway. Majeski will make his Gander Outdoors Truck Series debut at the track, driving Niece Motorsports’ No. 44, the team announced Monday, Nov. 4. He replaces Angela Ruch, who had initially been expected to drive the No. 44 for the final …

Read more

NASCAR 101: The Cup Rookie Battle Couldn’t Be Closer Than It Is Right Now

Monster Energy Nascar Cup Series

(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photography)

The closest points race in NASCAR right now isn’t necessarily a battle for the championship. Sure, there are few clear favorites for titles in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, the Xfinity Series and the Gander Outdoors Truck Series. With two or three races to go in each series, there’s a sense that the championship …

Read more

Team Penske Crew Member Suspended After Joey Logano-Denny Hamlin Fight


Team Penske employee Dave Nichols Jr. has been suspended for one race after his actions in a post-race scuffle between Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR announced Monday, Oct. 28. Nichols, a tire technician for Logano’s No. 22, was found to have violated a portion of the NASCAR …

Read more

NASCAR 101: Related Drivers in NASCAR

2016 Fontana Nxs Ty Dillon Austin Dillon Brett Moist Nkp

(Photo: Brett Moist/NKP)

This column was all set. Perfect, even — the idea, that is. It was timely, fitting, whatever. Then Carson Ware dropped off the Gander Outdoors Truck Series entry list for this weekend at Martinsville Speedway. But you know what? Screw it. Doing it anyway. In the event that Ware returns to the entry list (until …

Read more

NASCAR 101: The Most First-Time Winners in Truck Series History

Nascar Gander Outdoors Truck Series

(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photography)

After a quiet year for new winners in 2018, the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series is having quite a year for newcomers to victory lane. Spencer Boyd‘s Talladega Superspeedway triumph made him the fifth first-time winner in the series in 2019, with three races still to go before the season’s end. He’s the first new …

Read more

Harrison Burton Moving to Xfinity With Joe Gibbs Racing for 2020

2019 Loudon Nxs Harrison Burton Face Nigel Kinrade Photography

(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photography)

Harrison Burton is getting a promotion. The driver of the No. 18 for Kyle Busch Motorsports in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series will move to the Xfinity Series for Joe Gibbs Racing in 2020, the team announced Thursday, Oct. 17. Burton will drive the No. 20 that is being vacated by Christopher Bell, who …

Read more

Spencer Boyd Wins First Truck Race After Johnny Sauter Penalized at Talladega

2019 Talladega Ngots Spencer Boyd Victory Lane Cck

(Photo: Christian Koelle)

Johnny Sauter may have crossed the line first, but Spencer Boyd emerged victorious at Talladega Superspeedway in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series. Boyd was declared the race winner after NASCAR reviewed the finish and determined that he blocked second-place Riley Herbst coming to the checkered flag, sending both Sauter and Herbst below the yellow …

Read more

NASCAR 101: Most Cup Wins of the 2010s

2019 Daytona Clash Cup Kevin Harvick Jimmie Johnson Racing Nkp

It’s Kyle Busch vs. Kevin Harvick vs. Jimmie Johnson in the battle of the 2010s. Just seven races remain in this decade of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series racing, and three drivers are in contention for the most wins overall during those 10 years. Entering this weekend’s race at Dover International Speedway, Busch leads the …

Read more