Race Weekend Central

Sammy Smith Barely Bests Jesse Love, Wins ARCA Pole at IRP

By seven one-thousands of a second, Sammy Smith edged ahead of Jesse Love for the ARCA Menards Series pole at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park on Friday (July 29). Smith will lead the 24-car field to the green flag for the Reese’s 200.

It’s the fourth pole award of Smith’s ARCA career. Smith, the reigning ARCA Menards Series East champion, has already won twice this ARCA season.

Love qualified second ahead of his first ARCA start at IRP.

See also
ARCA Preview: 2022 Reese's 200 at IRP

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series playoff driver Chandler Smith qualified third. Driving the No. 15 Venturini Motorsports Toyota, Smith has won back-to-back ARCA races at IRP.

Taylor Gray enters IRP with back-to-back ARCA victories this season. Gray will start fourth.

The top three in the championship standings will start fifth through seventh. Nick Sanchez will start fifth, Daniel Dye will start sixth and Rajah Caruth will start seventh.

Dylan Smith, also known as Mamba Smith, will start eighth in his ARCA debut. Tom Hessert and Christian Rose round out the starting top 10 in ninth and 10th place, respectively.

Of the 24 competitors, Zachary Tinkle was the only driver not to make a qualifying attempt. Tinkle will start dead last (24th) with zero DNQs.

ARCA Qualifying Results from IRP

The Reese’s 200 will begin later on Friday at 6 p.m. ET with TV coverage provided by FOX Sports 1 (FS1).

About the author

Mark Kristl joined Frontstretch at the beginning of the 2019 NASCAR season. He is the site's ARCA Menards Series editor. Kristl is also an Eagle Scout and a proud University of Dayton alum.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via