Race Weekend Central

Matt Kenseth, AJ Foyt Among 4 New Nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Matt Kenseth, AJ Foyt, Tim Brewer and Sam Ard were added to the ballot for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

Kenseth and Brewer are added to the Modern Era Ballot, while Foyt and Ard are part of the Pioneer Ballot.

Fifteen total people are nominated for next year’s Hall of Fame.

Kenseth won 39 NASCAR Cup Series races and claimed the championship in 2003. He also has 29 Xfinity Series victories.

Brewer served as a crew chief from 1973-2004 and led his drivers to 53 Cup wins.

Foyt was the first person to win the Indianapolis 500 four times. In NASCAR, he earned seven Cup wins, including the 1972 Daytona 500.

Lastly, Ard was mainly known for his Xfinity triumphs, earning 22 total victories and two championships.

Here are the rest of the nominees for Modern Era: Neil Bonnett, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Larry Phillips, Ricky Rudd and Kirk Shelmerdine.

And the remaining nominees for Pioneer Era: Banjo Matthews, Hershel McGriff, Ralph Moody.

Two Modern Era nominees and one Pioneer will be inducted into the Class of 2023.

Also, Lesa France Kennedy joins Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Mike Helton and Dr. Joseph Mattioli as nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Voting will be conducted on May 4.

About the author

Joy joined Frontstretch in 2019 as a NASCAR DraftKings writer, expanding to news and iRacing coverage in 2020. She's currently an assistant editor and involved with photos, social media and news editing. A California native, Joy was raised as a motorsports fan and started watching NASCAR extensively in 2001. She earned her B.A. degree in Liberal Studies at California State University Bakersfield in 2010.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via