Race Weekend Central

2016 Camping World Truck Series Chase Grid Finalized in Chicagoland

The 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Chase grid had is finally complete after the American Ethanol E15 250, and thanks to Kyle Busch’s win in the regular season finale, it looks the same as it did entering the weekend.

Six series regulars earned victories during the 16-race regular season, with two more drivers making their way into the Chase on points.

All three of NASCAR’s current manufacturers will be represented in the first playoff. Four Toyotas will contest for the title, with three Chevrolets and a lone Ford completing the field.

This will be the first year for the Chase in the Truck Series. The playoff format will echo the one seen in the Sprint Cup Series over the previous two seasons, with a scaled-back three-round, seven-race schedule. Eight drivers enter, with two drivers being eliminated after each of the first two three-race rounds. Drivers can advance themselves either by scoring the most points or notching a victory in any round.  The final championship round at Homestead-Miami Speedway will see the four remaining drivers compete in a race free of XFINITY Series or Sprint Cup Series regulars. The highest finisher of the four will earn the 2016 NCWTS crown.

The first round of the Chase will consist of New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway and a cutoff race at Talladega Superspeedway. The second round will follow with the field heading to Martinsville Speedway, Texas Motor Speedway and Phoenix International Raceway, with the championship round at Homestead ending the season.

Here’s the Chase grid following the regular season finale at Chicagoland.

  1. William Byron – 2,015 points (5 wins: Kansas, Texas, Iowa, Kentucky, Pocono)
  2. Matt Crafton – 2,006 points (2 wins: Dover, Charlotte)
  3. John Hunter Nemechek – 2,006 points (2 wins: Atlanta, MoSport)
  4. Christopher Bell – 2,003 points (1 win: Gateway)
  5. Johnny Sauter – 2,003 points (1 win, Daytona)
  6. Ben Kennedy 2,003 points (1  win: Bristol)
  7. Daniel Hemric – 2,000 points (Made on points)
  8. Timothy Peters – 2,000 points (Made on points)

About the author

A graduate of Ball State, Aaron rejoins Frontstretch for his second season in 2016 following a successful year that included covering seven races and starting the popular "Two-Headed Monster" column in 2015. Now in his third year of covering motorsports, Aaron serves as an Assistant Editor for Frontstretch while also contributing to other popular sites including Speed51 and The Apex. He encourages you to come say hi when you see him at the track.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

It’s bad enough that the farce of a Championship system has been around in the Cup series since 2004. Now, “the big joke” has been inflicted on the truck series. Look at the “chase” schedule. Five of the first six races are companion races to Cup races. How many of those five races will have a Cup driver named Kyle in them. How many will actually be won by a series regular? Vegas is a given to be won by a series regular, as this is not a companion race. My bet is that all five of those other races will be won by a Cup driver. I guess the ban on Cup drivers running the final at Homestead will make it legitimate. How on earth can that brainless moron (France) seriously think this is a good idea? Talk about a total farce!


It’s because Brian is brainless. Just ask his wives.

Share via