Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Sparks Energy 300

The ninth race of the 2016 season brings the XFINITY Series to Talladega Superspeedway.

There are 43 cars entered for Saturday’s event, meaning three will not qualify for the race.

John Wes Townley will attempt to make his second XFINITY Series start of 2016 in the No. 05 car. He finished 17th in the season opening Daytona event after starting 14th.

Scotland native John Jackson will look to qualify for his first race this season in the No. 13 Chris Kyle Foundation/Bubba Burger Toyota. This will be his 16th start in the series and first at Talladega.

After making his season debut for Joe Gibbs Racing at Richmond, Matt Tifft is back behind the wheel of the No. 18 NOS Energy Drink Toyota this weekend. This will be his first series start at Talladega.

Brandon McReynolds will compete in the No. 24 for JGL Racing on Saturday. This will be his second career series start and first since 2010.

Daytona winner Chase Elliott is back in the No. 88 for JR Motorsports this weekend and will look to remain undefeated in XFINITY Series restrictor plate races in 2016.

Action from Talladega begins on Friday with opening practice at 11:30 a.m. and final practice at 1:30 p.m. (all times ET). Qualifying takes place on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. and will be followed by the Sparks Energy 300 at 3 p.m. on FOX.

Car No.DriverSponsorManufacturerOwner
0Garrett Smithleyteamjdmotorsports.comChevyGary Cogswell
01Ryan PreeceGK ServicesChevyJohnny Davis
1Elliott SadlerOneMainChevyDale Earnhardt Jr
2Austin Dillon(i)RheemChevyRichard Childress
3Ty DillonBass Pro ShopsChevyRichard Childress
4Ross ChastainFlex SealChevyGary Keller
05John Wes Townley(i)TBDChevyTony Townley
6Darrell Wallace JrKleen Perfomance Ford MustangFordJack Roush
07Ray Black JrScuba LifeChevyBobby Dotter
7Justin AllgaierBreyersChevyKelley Earnhardt-Miller
10Jeff GreenTBDToyotaMark Smith
11Blake KochLeafFilter Gutter ProtectionChevyMatt Kaulig
13John JacksonChris Kyle Foundation / Bubba BurgerToyotaDanielle Long
14Benny GordonTri-Star MotorsportsToyotaMark Smith
15Travis Kvapil(i)Lilly Trucking / CarPortEmpire.comFordRick Ware
16Ryan ReedLilly Diabetes / American Diabetes AssociationFordJack Roush
18Matt Tifft(i)NOS Energy DrinkToyotaJ D Gibbs
19Daniel SuarezARRISToyotaJoe Gibbs
20Erik JonesGameStopToyotaJoe Gibbs
22Joey Logano(i)Discount TireFordRoger Penske
24Brandon McReynoldsYoung GunsToyotaGregg Mixon
25Chris CockrumAdvanced Communications GroupChevyRick Ware
28Dakoda ArmstrongWinField Be GreaterToyotaJames Whitener
33Brandon JonesOkumaChevyRichard Childress
39Ryan SiegSpark EnergyChevyRod Sieg
40Carl LongBraille Battery / GrafoidDodgeDanielle Long
42Justin MarksKaterraChevyChip Ganassi
43Jeb BurtonJ. StreicherFordRichard Petty
44David StarrZachryToyotaMark Smith
48Brennan PooleDC SolarChevyChip Ganassi
51Jeremy ClementsRepairableVehicles.comChevyTony Clements
52Joey GaseTBDChevyJimmy Means
62Brendan GaughanSouth PointChevyRichard Childress
70Derrike CopeTBDChevyMary Louise Miller
74Mike HarmonTBADodgeMike Harmon
78B J McLeodTBDFordB J Mcleod
85Bobby GerhartLucas OilChevyWilliam Gerhart
88Chase Elliott(i)Armour Vienna SausageChevyRick Hendrick
89Morgan ShepherdTBDChevyCindy Shepherd
90Mario GosselinBuckedUp ApparelChevyMichelle Gosselin
93Josh Wise(i)RSS RacingChevyPamela Sieg
97TBAVroomBrandsChevyVictor Obaika
98Aric Almirola(i)Fresh From FloridaFordFred Biagi

About the author

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via