Race Weekend Central

Numbers Game: 2012 Spring Off-Week


Excluding the exhibition race in the Bud Shootout, Kyle Busch has failed to win any NASCAR-sanctioned event in 2012. Since joining Joe Gibbs Racing in 2008, the talented yet unstable driver has averaged almost 21 combined victories in the Cup, Nationwide and Truck series each year.


The Cup Series has been visiting the Texas Motor Speedway for 15 years now and only once has the polesitter gone on to win the race. Kasey Kahne, driving for Evernham Motorsports at the time, took his No. 9 Dodge to victory lane after starting first in the 2006 event.


Wins for Chevrolet, all by Stewart-Haas Racing. Toyota, Ford and Dodge have each made one trip to the winner’s circle in 2012.


The fewest cautions in a Cup race at Texas, occuring four different times, including both events last year. The other two occassions happened in the fall races in 2008 and 2009, which were won by Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch, respectively.


It seems like we hear it every year, but it is especially true for 2012 – track position is more important than ever. Through six races, 13th has been the worst starting spot for a race winner, when Denny Hamlin won Phoenix after starting outside the top 10. Every other race winner so far has started ninth or higher.


There were 14 Sprint Cup races run at TMS before the facility had a repeat winner. Edwards became the first man to visit victory lane at the speedway more than once, when he picked up win number two in the spring race of 2008. His first win at the track came three years earlier in 2005, his first full season in the Cup Series.

In the four years since Edwards became the first two-time winner, Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Stewart have joined the ranks of winning at TMS on more than one occasion.


The average number of lead changes so far in 2012 has been 17.8. Daytona and Phoenix both hold the season high of 25 while the rain-shortened race at Fontana had only nine. This number is far off last year’s average after six races, which was 31.5.


The deepest starting position for any winner at Sprint Cup race at Texas Motor Speedway. This has now been a track record for 10 years, when Kenseth won the 2002 running after starting 31st.

About the author

The Frontstretch Staff is made up of a group of talented men and women spread out all over the United States and Canada. Residing in 15 states throughout the country, plus Ontario, and widely ranging in age, the staff showcases a wide variety of diverse opinions that will keep you coming back for more week in and week out.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Share via