Sunday , September 14 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR LATE MODELS / Tyler Reddick Grabs First Career DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Highland Speedway
Tyler Reddick Grabs First Career DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Highland Speedway
Tyler Reddick is a first time winner in the Hell Tour at Highland Speedway. Credit: Jimmy Dearing

Tyler Reddick Grabs First Career DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Highland Speedway

By Jordan Morris

HIGHLAND, Ill. — July 5, 2014 — NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular Tyler Reddick made his dramatic return to dirt ovals on Saturday night at Highland Speedway, as he led the final 26 laps en route to capturing his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory and the $10,000 checkered flag.

Reddick, an 18-year-old Corning, Calif. native, has been absent from Dirt Late Models since the World of Outlaws World Finals last November while he competed on a limited basis for 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Brad Keselowski in the Camping World Truck Series. Following a break in NASCAR action this week, Reddick and his father Clarence managed to get one of their two Bloomquist Race Cars ready for this weekend’s DIRTcar Summer Nationals action.

Reddick started the race on the outside of pole-sitter Bobby Pierce, who managed to grab the race lead for the opening two laps of the 40-lap feature event. Pierce and third-place starter Jason Feger battled side-by-side for the lead for a couple of laps as Feger claimed the top spot on lap three, before handing it back to Pierce the next lap.

As the two leaders battled, Reddick lurked in their rearview mirrors. Pierce controlled the lead until lap nine, when a hard-charging Reddick made his way back to the front of the field and rocketed around the leader Pierce.

Friday night winner Brandon Sheppard, who started the race in the fifth position, looked to go back-to-back as he worked his way to the front, passing Pierce for second on lap 16. Sheppard had some work to do in order to catch the leader, who had already built a large lead on second just two laps after capturing the lead. With 10 laps to go that lead would be wiped away as the leader was slowed by lapped traffic.

Sheppard would get to Reddick’s back bumper, but the leader, who was running the faster low-line, held on to lead the final 26 laps and claim the victory over the defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion at Highland Speedway.

“It’s been a long time since we won a race so this is exciting,” said Reddick whose only Dirt Late Model win came on Feb. 9, 2011 at Eastbay Raceway Park. “This was an unplanned race and here we are — $10,000 richer, won a Summer Nationals race and going to Haubstadt (Indiana’s Tri-State Speedway) tomorrow to hopefully get another win.”

Brian Shirley, Bobby Pierce and Billy Moyer rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Jason Feger, Billy Moyer, Bobby Pierce and Tyler Reddick

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Sunday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Highland Speedway; Highland, Ill.; July 5, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 11R-Tyler Reddick ($10,000), 2. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 3. 81-Brian Shirley, 4. 32-Bobby Pierce, 5. 21-Billy Moyer, 6. 25-Jason Feger, 7. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 8. 6K-Michael Kloos, 9. 18-Shannon Babb, 10. 7R-Kent Robinson, 11. 32J-Jason Jaggers, 12. 78-Chad Zobrist, 13. 20W-Matt Weidner, 14. 1M-Jim Moon, 15. 0-Randy Korte, 16. 9R-Curtis Roberts, 17. 29W-Brian Divley, 18. 24T-Matt Taylor, 19. 25M-Frankie Martin, 20. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 21. 27S-Mike Schulte, 22. 1S-Rick Salter.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win

June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.