Tuesday , October 21 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR LATE MODELS / Shannon Babb Captures Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Season at Hometown Macon Speedway
Shannon Babb Captures Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Season at Hometown Macon Speedway
Shannon Babb wins for a third time in 2014 DIRTCar Summer Nationals at Macon Speedway. Credit: Jimmy Dearing

Shannon Babb Captures Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Season at Hometown Macon Speedway

By Jordan Morris

MACON, Ill. — July 10, 2014 — Shannon Babb, from nearby Moweaqua, Ill., traded the lead back-and-forth with championship rival Ryan Unzicker for most of the race before Babb finally claimed the top spot just past halfway en route to capturing his third win of the season and fifth Herald & Review 100 at his hometown Macon Speedway.

Bobby Pierce, who started from the pole-position, jumped out to an early lead and controlled the first four circuits. Babb, who started just behind Pierce in the third position, easily made his way around second-place starter Brian Shirley, as he stayed close to the leader’s back bumper.

Babb captured the lead from Pierce on lap five and was not seriously challenged for almost the next 30 laps. Babb held the lead until lap 34 when lapped traffic helped a hard-charging Ryan Unzicker, who started in the seventh position, squeeze past Babb and claim the top spot.

Unzicker held the lead for the next 22 laps but could not hold off Babb, who found the high-line just past halfway in the event and charged back to the front to retake the lead. Babb pulled away from Unzicker and easily led the final 45 laps of the 100-lap feature event, claiming the $5,000 checkered flag at Macon Speedway. Unzicker settled for his sixth runner-up finish of the season without capturing a victory yet.

“We’ve growed up here and raced here a lot, so it means a lot to win this thing,” said three-time series champion Shannon Babb, who received a loud ovation upon winning in front of his hometown crowd. “You know, it’s tough running 100 laps here and staying out of trouble.”

In another back-and-forth battle, Babb returned his name to atop the series all-time wins list as he tied Billy Moyer at 86 DIRTcar Summer Nationals career victories, just one night after Moyer won at Terre Haute Action Track and took the outright lead.

Brian Shirley, Dennis Erb Jr. and Matt Taylor rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Pierce, Gary Christian, Babb and Shirley.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Friday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Macon Speedway; Macon, Ill.; July 10, 2014;

A-Main (100-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 81-Brian Shirley, 4. 28E-Dennis Erb Jr, 5. 24T-Matt Taylor, 6. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 7. 42-MCKay Wenger, 8. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 9. 4T-Guy Taylor, 10. 38L-Ryan Little, 11. 91-Kyle Logue, 12. 7T-Steve Thorsten, 13. 30V-Mark Voigt, 14. 27K-Greg Kimmons, 15. 1M-Jim Moon, 16. 28B-John Beck, 17. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 18. 1CJ-Gary Christian, 19. 36-Andrew Barnes, 20. 32-Bobby Pierce, 21. 33H-Billy Hough, 22. 21B-Rich Bell.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win

June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Billy Moyer(3)
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Jason Jameson
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Billy Moyer(4)
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Shannon Babb(3)
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.