Monday , October 20 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR LATE MODELS / Rick Eckert Conquers Cedar Lake Speedway with Daring Late Race Pass for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory
Rick Eckert Conquers Cedar Lake Speedway with Daring Late Race Pass for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory
Rick Eckert puts the Rocket house car in Victory Lane at Cedar Lake Speedway Credit: Jim Denhamer

Rick Eckert Conquers Cedar Lake Speedway with Daring Late Race Pass for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory

By Jordan Morris

SOMERSET, Wis. — June 13, 2014 — Rick Eckert claimed his first victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour, and his first at Cedar Lake Speedway since 2002, after completing a daring pass with two laps to go on 17-year-old Bobby Pierce to claim the $5,000 checkered flag.

Defending Summer Nationals champ Brandon Sheppard started the race from the pole and jumped out to an early lead over Rodney Sanders and Billy Moyer. Sheppard controlled the lead for the first half of the race before surrendering it to Bobby Pierce, who managed to make his way to the front after starting fifth. The two young stars dominated much of the race, with 48-year-old Rick Eckert giving chase. Eckert made his way to Pierce’s back bumper with less than 10 laps remaining, but Pierce’s high-line kept Eckert from completing the pass. Finally with two laps to go, Eckert slung his car into the corner, sliding up in front of Pierce to secure the lead en route to claiming his first win since jumping into the Rocket Chassis house car nearly two months ago.

“Racing them two kids, they’re going to win a lot of races, no doubt about it,” said Eckert, of York, Pa. “So it’s nice to steal one from them now while I still can.”

Rodney Sanders, Brian Birkhofer and Billy Moyer rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brandon Sheppard, Billy Moyer, Rick Eckert and Rodney Sanders.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Saturday night at Cedar Lake Speedway in Somerset, Wis.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Cedar Lake Speedway; Somerset, Wis.; June 13, 2014 A-Main (40-laps): 1. 1-Rick Eckert ($5,000), 2. 32-Bobby Pierce, 3. 20-Rodney Sanders, 4. 15B-Brian Birkhofer, 5. 21-Billy Moyer, 6. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 7. 28M-Jimmy Mars, 8. 2S-Brady Smith, 9. 77X-Tim McCreadie, 10. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 11. 22-Gregg Satterllee, 12. 96-Tanner English, 13. 7K-Jason Krohn, 14. 18-Shannon Babb, 15. 33X-Adam Hensel, 16. 98-Jason Rauen, 17. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 18. 90-Lance Matthees, 19. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 20. 81-Brian Shirley, 21. 58-AJ Diemel, 22. 11-Pat Doar.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win

June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. $10,000
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. $5,000
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa $10,000
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. $5,000
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $5,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $10,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $10,000
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $5,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $5,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. $5,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. $5,000
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. $10,000
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. $10,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $5,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $5,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.