Tuesday , October 21 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Mike Harrison Scores Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
Mike Harrison Scores Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
Mike Harrison wins third feature in the DIRTCar Summit Modified Nationals at Federated i-55 Speedway Photo courtesy of DIRTCar

Mike Harrison Scores Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

By Jordan Morris

PEVELY, Mo. — June 28, 2014 — Mike Harrison looked to be in championship form Saturday night, claiming his series leading third victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment season at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55.

Track owner Ken Schrader, of Fenton, Mo., and Michael Long of Quincy, Ill., occupied the front row for the 25-lap feature event. Schrader rocketed around Long on the start of the race and secured the lead for the opening handful of laps.

Mike Harrison, who started just behind Schrader and Long in the third position, would not let Schrader get away from the field. Harrison ran down the leader and passed him on lap six. Harrison’s car proved to be too strong for either Schrader or Long to keep up with as he pulled away to an insurmountable lead.

Harrison would lead the remaining 19 laps en route to scoring the $1,000 checkered flag at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, defeating Schrader by .77 of a second. Harrison continues to sit atop the point standings, increasing his margin over Ray Bollinger who finished 14th.

Long, Mark Miner, and Jim Black rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Long, Schrader, and Harrison.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway in Lincoln, Ill.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55; Pevely, Mo.; June 28, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 24H-Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. 9-Ken Schrader, 3. 18L-MIchael Long, 4. 7-Mark Miner, 5. 10XJY-Jim Black, 6. 31-Ricky Horton, 7. 05W-David Wietholder, 8. 17-Brad Thurston, 9. 96D-Cory Daugherty, 10. 70R-Josh Russell, 11. 0-Tim Hancock, 12. 1W-Ray Walsh, 13. 32-Donovan Lodge, 14. 77-Ray Bollinger, 15. 12R-Tyler Ratatczyk, 16. 47-Brad Paquet, 17. 5-Steven Brooks, 18. 18-Jake Seets, 19. 8B-Brendan Bittle, 20. 36-Conrad Miner, 21. 87Z-Zeb Moake, 22. 1D-Dean Hoffman, 23. 3C-Cody Conner, 24. 377-Casey Pearson, 25. 32Z-Nate Zimmer.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $1,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $1,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $1,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $1,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $1,000
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $1,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $1,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $1,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.