Thursday , October 23 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Ken Schrader Grabs First Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Macon Speedway
Ken Schrader Grabs First Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Macon Speedway
Ken Schrader puts his name in the win column for the 2014 Summit Modified Nationals at Macon Speedway Credit: Jimmy Dearing

Ken Schrader Grabs First Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Macon Speedway

By Jordan Morris

MACON, Ill. — July 10, 2014 — Ken Schrader overtook leader Jeff Curl with just four laps remaining, then held him off on two late-race restarts en route to securing his first $1,000 checkered flag of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Thursday night at Macon Speedway.

Cory Daughtery claimed the pole-position for the 25-lap feature event with points leader Mike Harrison starting to his outside. Daughtery slid out to an early lead as second place Harrison came under fire from Jeff Curl and Ken Schrader, who started in the row behind the leaders.

Daughtery led a race-high 13 laps but the tight, 1/5-mile dirt oval provided close racing all night long, keeping any one driver from dominating the feature event. With slower traffic starting to cause an issue, second-place Jeff Curl reeled in the leader with ease and quickly jumped to his outside. On lap 14, after a few laps of side-by-side battling, Curl managed to slip around Daughtery for the lead and brought Schrader with him.

Curl led the next eight laps, but slower lapped traffic caused problems for the leaders again, this time striking Curl on lap 22 who was stuck behind two slower drivers battling for position. Second-place Ken Schrader, seizing the opportunity, dove to Curl’s inside as the leader became blocked behind a slower car, allowing Schrader to slide into the lead.

Schrader navigated slower traffic and held off Curl after two late-race cautions in the final four laps, en route to claiming his first DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the 2014 season at Macon Speedway.

“We just got rolling around the middle,” said Schrader, who tested a USAC Silver Crown car in Indianapolis for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series star Tony Stewart earlier in the day. “We got to second and then lapped traffic worked out for us, so we just got lucky there.”

Jeff Leka, Harrison and Daughtery rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Schrader, Curl, Daughtery and Harrison.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on Friday night at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Macon Speedway; Macon, Ill.; July 10, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 9-Ken Schrader ($1,000), 2. 12-Jeff Curl, 3. 3L-Jeff Leka, 4. 24H-Mike Harrison, 5. 96D-Cory Daugherty, 6. 59N-Chad Evans, 7. 10R-Curt Rhodes, 8. 7-Rodney Bowman, 9. 41G-Matt Goulden, 10. 37-Dave Crawley, 11. 7S-Ethan Schnapp, 12. 98D-Danny Smith, 13. 77T-Guy Taylor, 14. 4B-Cody Bauman, 15. 77-Ray Bollinger, 16. 96M-Mike McKinney, 17. 111-Zach Bunning, 18. 6T-Tommy Sheppard JR, 19. 20-Eric Hamilton, 20. 89W-Rick Weitekamp, 21. 1-Jeremy Nichols, 22. 11-Chad Sellers.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.