Saturday , October 25 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR LATE MODELS / Jason Jamison Outduels Brian Shirley in 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Thriller at Florence Speedway
Jason Jamison Outduels Brian Shirley in 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Thriller at Florence Speedway
Jason Jamison is a first time Hell Tour winner at Florence Speedway. Credit: Jimmy Dearing

Jason Jamison Outduels Brian Shirley in 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Thriller at Florence Speedway

By Jordan Morris

UNION, Ky. — July 8, 2014 — Jason Jameson scored his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory in exciting fashion, as he passed 2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Brian Shirley with less than 10 laps to go, then held him off on a late-race restart en route to scoring the $5,000 checkered flag at Florence Speedway.

Jameson, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., started the 40-lap feature event from the pole-position but failed to secure the top spot on lap one as Shirley, who started to Jameson’s outside, jumped out to an early lead.

Shirley looked to have the car to beat as he led a race-high 31 circuits, but started fading late as Jameson caught back up to the leader and slid around him to claim the lead on lap 32. Jameson quickly extended his lead and looked as if he would cruise to the victory with only eight laps remaining.

That was before a late-race caution brought a hungry Brian Shirley, who hasn’t won since Clayhill Motorsports Park on June 26, back to the leader’s back bumper on lap 38. On both of the final remaining laps Shirley dove his car under Jameson in turn two, both times capturing the lead, before handing it back over to Jameson who crossed back under him on the backstretch.

Jameson recaptured the top spot from Shirley on each of the final two laps, eventually pulling away from Shirley coming to the checkered flag as he was passed by Eric Wells for the second position. Jameson fought hard with the 2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion, but eventually came away with his first career victory in the grueling six-week long tour.

“Shirley, he was driving the wheels off that thing, and I was just chasing him the whole time,” said Jameson, who also crews for two-time World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion Darrell Lanigan. “His car, seemed like the longer the race went, the tighter it got…I could rotate the center better than he could, so I figured it was a matter of time when I could run him off [turn] two and get him in three and four, and that’s kind of what happened.”

Shirley, Kent Robinson and Justin Rattliff rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Shirley, Jameson and Eric Wells.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Wednesday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute, Ind.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Florence Speedway; Union, Ky.; July 8, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 29-Jason Jameson ($5,000), 2. 18W-Eric Wells, 3. 81-Brian Shirley, 4. 7R-Kent Robinson, 5. 16-Justin Rattliff, 6. 18-Shannon Babb, 7. 91P-Jason Papich, 8. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 9. C9-Steve Casebolt, 10. 1B-Jeff Babcock, 11. 1M-Jim Moon, 12. 21-Robby Hensley, 13. 11R-James Rice, 14. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 15. 157-Mike Marlar, 16. 63-Jesse Lay, 17. 19-Chad Smith, 18. 3-Austin Dillon, 19. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 20. 18E-Ethan Burgess, 21. 77K-Steve Kester.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win

June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Billy Moyer(3)
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Jason Jameson
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.