Thursday , October 23 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Jacob Poel Dominates Farmer City Raceway for Sixth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of 2014
Jacob Poel Dominates Farmer City Raceway for Sixth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of 2014
Jacob Poel leads flag-to-flag at Farmer City for sixth Summit Modified Nationals win of 2014. Credit: Jim Denhamer

Jacob Poel Dominates Farmer City Raceway for Sixth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of 2014

By Jordan Morris

FARMER CITY, Ill. — July 11, 2014 — Jacob Poel captured his sixth victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Friday night at Farmer City Raceway in dominating fashion as he led flag-to-flag en route to securing the $1,000 payday.

Poel, who last won Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway, started the 25-lap feature event on the outside of pole-sitter Nick Allen. Poel rocketed around Allen on the start of the race as he captured the lead on the opening lap.

Poel escaped to an early lead as second-place Allen came under fire from Lance Dehm, who started the feature in third position and grabbed second-place with ease as Allen faded through the field.

Dehm tried to muscle around Poel after two cautions slowed the field around the halfway point of the race, but the leader turned back the challenge from Dehm, as second place came under fire from Jeff Curl, who was charging through the field. Dehm and Curl battled side-by-side for a couple of laps before Curl cleared Dehm and set his sights on the leader.

Poel proved to be too strong in the final three laps as he never allowed Curl to close in for the lead. Poel dominated the feature event, leading every lap without facing a serious challenge for the $1,000 checkered flag at Farmer City Raceway.

“I can’t say enough about this car,” said the six-time winner in 2014 who drives a Rocket Chassis racecar. “It’s been a great car for me, and Farmer City has been a great track for us today and I’m glad to take home another one.”

Lance Dehm, Jeff Leka and Mike Harrison rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Dehm, Nick Allen and Poel.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals travel to Fairbury Speedway Saturday night after the June 21 event was rescheduled due to rain.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Farmer City Raceway; Farmer City, Ill.; July 11, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 82-Jacob Poel ($1,000), 2. 12-Jeff Curl, 3. D1-Lance Dehm, 4. 3L-Jeff Leka, 5. 24H-Mike Harrison, 6. 5-Steven Brooks, 7. 21A-Nick Allen, 8. 99J-Jimmy Dehm, 9. 7L-Jay Ledford, 10. 55A-Collin Alexander, 11. 77-Ray Bollinger, 12. 28H-Davin Henderson, 13. 18-Jeffery Ledford, 14. 6B-Dave Baldwin, 15. 11-Ed Roley, 16. 32Z-Nate Zimmer, 17. 20X-Sabreena Ekstrom, 18. 7-Rodney Bowman, 19. 41G-Matt Goulden, 20. 1-Donald Kiger, 21. 36L-Jamie Lomax, 22. 3-Cory Schwengel, 23. 2L-Justin Leka, 24. 1A-Aaron Draege.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.