Monday , September 22 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Jacob Poel Captures Seventh Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Vermilion County Speedway
Jacob Poel Captures Seventh Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Vermilion County Speedway
Jacob Poel continues to dominate the 2014 Summit Modified Nationals with his seventh win at Vermillion County Speedway. Credit: Jim Denhamer

Jacob Poel Captures Seventh Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Vermilion County Speedway

By Jordan Morris

DANVILLE, Ill. — July 13, 2014 — Red-hot Jacob Poel continued to dominate Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals action on Sunday night as he led the races final 15-laps en route to claiming his series-leading seventh checkered flag of the season.

22 Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds roared into the 3/8-mile oval located in western Illinois, near the state-line with Indiana, with championship leader Mike Harrison capturing the pole for the 25-lap feature event.

Harrison failed to lead a single lap as second-place starter Randy Lines jumped out to an early lead. Harrison came under fire from Nick Allen and Jacob Poel for second early as the three battled side-by-side, and even three-wide at one time, with Allen and Poel eventually sliding past Harrison for the position.

Lines led the opening six laps, but fell back to third on lap seven when a hard-charging Allen quickly chased him down and rocketed past him for the lead, bringing Poel with him. Lines continued to drop back through the field as the race progressed, eventually settling for a sixth place finish by the time the checkered flag flew.

Allen controlled the top spot over Poel for the next four laps, but had trouble holding off the red-hot driver from Michigan. Poel, utilizing the faster high-side of the race track, made his way to the leader’s outside and eventually cleared Allen to claim the top spot on lap 10.

Poel navigated lap traffic and built a large lead by the end of the feature event, as he easily dominated the final 16-laps en route to capturing his series-leading seventh $1,000 checkered flag of the season at Vermilion County Speedway.

In what’s shaping up to be the tightest points battle in series history, Jacob Poel cut into defending champion Mike Harrison’s 11-point lead he had coming into the night, after Poel captured the victory and Harrison settled for a fifth place finish.

Jamie Lomax, Gabe Menser and Mike Harrison rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Jimmy Dehm, Mike Harrison and Randy Lines.

Following a two-day break in action, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio, as both tours kick off their final stretch of action before championship night at Oakeshade Raceway on July 19.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Farmer City Raceway; Farmer City, Ill.; July 11, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 82-Jacob Poel ($1,000), 2. 21A-Nick Allen, 3. 36L-Jamie Lomax, 4. G1-Gabe Menser, 5. 24H-Mike Harrison, 6. 18-Randy Lines, 7. 59N-Chad Evans, 8. 92-Kenny Carmichael, 9. 11M-Josh McDaniel, 10. 1-Donald Kiger, 11. 44-Roger Cary, 12. 91-Neil Rollins, 13. 6B-Dave Baldwin, 14. 89W-Rick Weitekamp, 15. 722-Jerimy Hanlin, 16. 20X-Sabreena Ekstrom, 17. 83-Kasey Schrock, 18. 39-Kevin Gummere, 19. 1W-Jamie Kuntz, 20. 22P-Wilson Prater, 21. 99J-Jimmy Dehm, 22. 12-Jeff Curl.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.