Saturday , October 25 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Devin Gilpin Scores Third Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Atomic Speedway
Devin Gilpin Scores Third Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Atomic Speedway
Devin Gilpin wins at Atomic Speedway for his third triumph of the Summit Modified Nationals. Credit: Jim Denhamer

Devin Gilpin Scores Third Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Atomic Speedway

By Jordan Morris

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — July 16, 2014 — Devin Gilpin claimed his third victory of the 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals after recapturing the lead with 10-laps remaining en route to securing the $1,000 checkered flag at Atomic Speedway.

Gilpin led the field to the green-flag with Cody Parker starting to his outside. Gilpin jumped out to an early lead as Parker faded through the field, surrendering second-place to Jackie Boggs, who started just behind the leaders in the second row.

Gilpin controlled the field for the opening four circuits, but could never pull away from Boggs who stayed glued to his back-bumper. Boggs had the fastest car and made his way around Gilpin for the lead on lap five.

Boggs looked to have the car to beat as held the lead for the next six laps. Unfortunately for the leader, his night would come to an early end after his car spun in turn four on lap 11, causing damage to his left-front suspension.

With Boggs out of the race, Gilpin would inherit the lead. Gilpin dominated the final 11-laps, but had to hold off a hard-charging Daniel Ebert on a late race caution with three laps remaining. Gilpin, following several attempts by Ebert to muscle his way to the lead, held off second-place and captured the checkered flag at Atomic Speedway.

Championship leader Mike Harrison failed to race his way into the A-Main giving second-place Jacob Poel the opportunity to cut into the slim six-point deficit. Poel only managed a 10th place finish, failing to close in on Harrison in the closest points battle in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals history. With three races remaining, the point deficit still sits at six-points.

Kenny Johnson, Jeremy Rayburn and Cody Parker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Cody Parker, Kenny Johnson and Devin Gilpin.

With only three races remaining, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals, continuing the closest points battle in series history on Thursday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex in Peebles, Ohio.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Atomic Speedway; Chillicothe, Ohio; July 16, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 1G-Devin Gilpin ($1,000), 2. 60-Daniel Ebert, 3. 1-Kenny Johnson, 4. 12-Jeremy Rayburn, 5. 42-Cody Parker, 6. 25B-Philip Bapst, 7. 21-Taylor Cook, 8. 8P-Fireball Pinkerton, 9. 13J-Adam Colley, 10. 82-Jacob Poel, 11. 36-Kenny Wallace, 12. 18-David McWilliams, 13. K9-Scott Gerdeman, 14. 17-Brandon Ramsey, 15. 75C-Steven Clemmons, 16. 8-Jimmy Lennex, 17. 20-Kevin Dulaney, 18. D4-Jackie Boggs, 19. 21S-Seth Daniels, 20. 1PJ-Shawn Holliday, 21. 22-Brandon Oliver, 22. 10L-Nathan Loney.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio Devin Gilpin
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.