Saturday , October 25 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Devin Gilpin Dominates Florence Speedway for Second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of the Season
Devin Gilpin Dominates Florence Speedway for Second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of the Season
Devin Gilpin wins for the second time in the 2014 Summit Modified Nationals at Florence Speedway. Credit: Jimmy Dearing

Devin Gilpin Dominates Florence Speedway for Second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory of the Season

By Jordan Morris

UNION, Ky. — July 8, 2014 — Devin Gilpin became just the third multi-race winner of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals on Tuesday night as he claimed the $1,000 checkered flag at Florence Speedway in dominating fashion.

Gilpin, who was last victorious on June 12 at Kankakee County Speedway, started the 25-lap feature event on the outside of row one with Kenny Wallace drawing the pole. Wallace failed to lead the first lap as Gilpin shot around him using the faster outside line.

As Gilpin pulled out to an early lead, Wallace’s car faded as mechanical problems plagued his car, eventually forcing him to retire on lap 10. With Wallace retiring early in the feature event, the door was opened for Josh Rice to challenge for the lead.

Rice proved to be the biggest challenge to Gilpin, as he used the highline to catch the leader and at one point even claiming the top spot before a caution put Gilpin back out front. With only five laps to go, Rice would also be plagued by mechanical issues, ending his bid for the win.

With Rice out of the race, Jeff Babcock, who started the race fifth and charged his way to front late in the race, assumed the second position. After the restart with four laps to go, Gilpin pulled away from Babcock, who dove into every corner trying to rattle the leader. Babcock fell just short of passing the leader, as Gilpin led flag-to-flag en route to capturing the well-deserved victory at Florence Speedway.

“I was starting to get tight as the run went on,” said Gilpin in victory lane. “Luckily the caution saved me, cause that Rice boy got by me. He’s just a natural talent – at 14 years old and wheeling a race car like he can…give him two or three years and he will be dominating.”

Pete Holt, Tyler Nicely and David McWilliams rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Nicely, Gilpin and Wallace.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on Wednesday night at Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute, Ind.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Florence Speedway; Union, Ky.; July 8, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 1G-Devin Gilpin ($1,000), 2. 7B-Jeff Babcock, 3. 11H-Pete Holt, 4. 25-Tyler Nicely, 5. 18-David McWilliams, 6. 12K-Scotty Kincaid, 7. 97-Shawn Brown, 8. 8-Jimmy Lennex, 9. 6-Kevin Hess, 10. 11-Josh Rice, 11. 112-Billy Vaughan, 12. 3H-Jason Hollon, 13. 17-Brandon Ramsey, 14. K4-Chris Kruetzkamp, 15. 36-Kenny Wallace, 16. 56-Larry Pickelheimer, 17. 87-Larry Moreland Jr, 18. 1HJR-John Holt Jr, 19. 14-Trent Green, 20. 41C-Kelly Craddock.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.