Monday , October 20 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR MODIFIEDS / Dave Baker Scores First Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Attica Raceway Park
Dave Baker Scores First Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Attica Raceway Park
Dave Baker finds Victory Lane at Attica Raceway Park in the Summit Modified Nationals. Credit: Jim Denhamer

Dave Baker Scores First Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Attica Raceway Park

By Jordan Morris

ATTICA, Ohio — July 18, 2014 — Dave Baker scored his first Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the 2014 season in thrilling fashion after leading the final two en route to capturing the $1,000 checkered flag on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park.

Baker started the 20-lap feature event from the outside of row one, as Jeff Babcock captured the pole-position. Babcock slipped out to an early lead as Baker came under fire from second-row starters Taylor Cook and Collin Thirlby.

Cook managed to grab the second position from Baker, who settled into third. After securing second, Cook reeled in Babcock, who led the opening three laps, with ease. Cook managed to get to the leader’s inside as the two leaders battled side-by-side for the top spot.

Cook was credited as taking the lead on lap four, but had trouble clearing Babcock and building an advantage on second-place. The two leaders remained within a car-length of each other for much of the race, as Babcock could never build up enough momentum to work his way to Cook’s outside.

Then with two-laps remaining, Babcock tried a daring go-for-broke move to the inside of the leader, as the two made contact, sending the leader spinning. Both drivers would be forced to start the final two laps from the rear of the field which gave third-place driver Dave Baker the lead. Baker held off Brad Wilson on the final restart, leading only two laps en route to claiming the $1,000 checkered flag at Attica Raceway Park.

Both points-leader Mike Harrison and Jacob Poel were absent from the feature event on Friday night. Heading into the final event at Oakshade Raceway, Harrison continues to cling to his slim six-point advantage over Poel as the two drivers duel it out on championship night.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Collin Thirlby, Jason Kinney and Mark Anderson rounded out the top five..

Heat race winners were Babcock, Baker and Thirlby.

With the closest points battle in series history heading into the final event, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on champsionship night at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Attica Raceway Park; Attica, Ohio; July 18, 2014;

A-Main (20-laps): 1. 15B-Dave Baker ($1,000), 2. 21W-Brad Wilson, 3. 47C-Collin Thirlby, 4. 4-Jason Kinney, 5. 43-Mark Anderson, 6. 55S-Zachary Schroeder, 7. 10L-Nathan Loney, 8. 11JS-Josh Scott, 9. 31J-Ray Jackson, 10. 20K-Bill Keeler, 11. 8C-Corey Bevard, 12. 15G-Jacob Gamber, 13. 66W-Jack Waldfogel, 14. 21-Taylor Cook, 15. 7B-Jeff Babcock, 16. K9-Scott Gerdeman, 17. 73B-Cody Basinger, 18. 6-Dave Golembrewski, 19. 53-Brad Johnson, 20. 5-Dean Taylor, 21. 18-Ryan Sutter.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio Devin Gilpin
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio Daniel Ebert
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio Dave Baker
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.