Tuesday , October 21 2014
Home / Amy Henderson (page 31)

Amy Henderson

Best of That’s History : Biggest Fish In The Pond

In 1973, a brash, outspoken rookie named Darrell Waltrip burst onto the NASCAR scene, making an impact with both his brash words (which earned Waltrip the nickname "Jaws") and his daring on the racetrack. Even as a rookie, Waltrip was vocally confident that he would someday be a NASCAR champion. He was right - he went on to win three titles in his brilliant career. But Waltrip's career didn't take off overnight; in fact, he wasn't the 1973 Rookie of the Year. That honor went to Lennie Pond. Read More »

Driver Review : Jimmie Johnson

*Jimmie "Hate Me All You Want; I Still Have the Big Trophy" Johnson* *2006 Ride:* No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet *2006 Owner:* Rick Hendrick/Jeff Gordon *2006 Crew Chief:* Chad Knaus *Stats:* 36 races, 5 Wins, 13 Top 5s, 24 Top 10s, one pole, 2006 Nextel Cup champion. *High Point:* Johnson's team always seemed to have something in reserve this year - no matter how low things seemed, they bounced back, again and again. Read More »

Driver Review : Kasey Kahne

*Kasey "I Wonder What He's Like?" Kahne* *2006 Ride:* No. 9 Dodge Dealers Dodge *2006 Owner:* Ray Evernham *2006 Team Director:* Kenny Francis *Stats:* 36 Races, 6 Wins, 12 Top 5s, 19 Top 10s, 6 Poles, 8th in points. *High Point:* Kahne dominated the intermediate tracks this year. All of Kahne's six poles and six wins came on tracks 1.5 miles or longer. Read More »

Another Season In the Books: Part II

Since the 2006 has come to an end, it's time to write it in the history books. The way this season will be written will pleasure some, disappoint others, and make even more downright mad. But however you slice it, it's time for a look back in this column over the next couple of weeks. This week, in Part Two of this season's look, and in light of a debate I've seen in a couple of other venues, I decided to compare Jimmie Johnson's stellar 2006 championship campaign with some of the greatest championship seasons of all-time to see where it stacks up. Read More »

Hate the 48? It’s Totally Undeserved

In the weeks since this year's Nextel Cup championship was decided in favor of Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 team, I've heard a lot of people complain about him. The reasons why are as diverse as the crowd of Manhattanites currently welcoming the world's fastest growing sport on wheels for the yearly awards banquet. Read More »

Another Season In the Books … Part I

_Since the 2006 Nextel Cup season has come to an end, it's now time to write its legacy in the history books. The way this season's chapter will be penned should pleasure some, disappoint others...and make the rest downright mad._ Read More »

Race Trax: Ford 400

*On Track* The Ford 400 is the final event on the 36-race NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Schedule. The Cup Series visits the 1.51-mile Homestead-Miami Speedway just once a year, hosting a 400-miler annually since 1999. Read More »

Five Little Pigs And A Lifetime

While perusing NASCAR's historical databases for some bits of information, I came across a name I'd never heard before, and one you likely haven't come across, either; but by the time I was through researching, it became a name that I felt deserved further mentioning. Roscoe "Pappy" Hough may not jog the memory banks of modern race fans, but his innovations in the racing world have left an indelible mark on the sport we know and love today. Read More »

To Buschwhack Or Not To Buschwhack

I've never made any bones about my feelings about the state of the Busch Series and the Nextel Cup owners who are using the series for extra testing time at the expense of the teams who truly want to race the series in its own right, or the costs to compete with these powerhouse teams and drivers. But are Cup drivers themselves bad for the Busch Series? Read More »