Thursday , September 18 2014
Home / Short Tracks / DIRTCAR LATE MODELS / Billy Moyer Powers to Victory at Kankakee County Speedway, Ties Babb for All-Time DIRTcar Summer Nationals Lead
Billy Moyer Powers to Victory at Kankakee County Speedway, Ties Babb for All-Time DIRTcar Summer Nationals Lead
Billy Moyer takes first blood in Hell Tour 2014. Credit: Jim Denhamer

Billy Moyer Powers to Victory at Kankakee County Speedway, Ties Babb for All-Time DIRTcar Summer Nationals Lead

By Jordan Morris

KANKAKEE, Ill. – June 12, 2014 – Billy Moyer claimed the checkered flag for his record eighth career DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Kankakee County Speedway on Thursday night. Moyer’s win ties him with Shannon Babb at the top of the tour’s all-time win list at 83 victories.

With an all Moyer front row, the eldest Moyer starting from the pole and Billy Moyer Jr. starting second, the huge crowd knew it would be in for a show. Moyer Jr. powered his way around his dad to start the race, pulling out to an early lead. Unfortunately for the younger Moyer his lead would be short-lived. A power steering failure caused his car to fall back before finally retiring on lap 10, handing the lead to the elder Moyer. Billy Moyer went on to dominate the remaining 30 laps, holding off former DIRTcar national champion Ryan Unzicker for the eighth win of his career at Kankakee County Speedway.

Brian Shirley, Rick Eckert and Mike Spatola rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Mike Spatola, Billy Moyer, Billy Moyer Jr.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Friday at Cedar Lake Speedway in Somerset, Wis.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Kankakee County Speedway; Kankakee, Ill.; June 12, 2014 A-Main (40-laps): 1. 21M-Billy Moyer ($5,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 81-Brian Shirley, 4. 1-Rick Eckert, 5. 89-Mike Spatola, 6. 32P-Bobby Pierce, 7. 22-Gregg Satterllee, 8. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 9. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 10. 18-Shannon Babb, 11. 77X-Jay Morris, 12. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 13. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 14. 10H-Don Hilleary, 15. 42A-Shawn Tozak, 16. 99JR-Frank Heckenast Jr, 17. 83-Scott Bull, 18. 77M-Jason McBride, 19. 25-Jason Feger, 20. 96X-Tanner Englis, 21. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 22. 116-Torin Mettille. Lap Leaders: Moyer Jr. 1-8, Moyer 9-40

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win

June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. $5,000
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. $10,000
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. $5,000
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa $10,000
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. $5,000
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $5,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $10,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $10,000
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $5,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $5,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. $5,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. $5,000
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. $10,000
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. $10,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $5,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $5,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Sprint Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Thursday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer for Millbridge Speedway and East Lincoln Speedway, local bullrings based outside of Charlotte, and pops up everywhere from Athlon Sports to SIRIUS XM Radio.